Protect Your Trip »

Best places to visit in asia.

From megacities to remote islands, Asia's top travel spots offer a hearty dose of adventure, ancient history and culture. And with most Asian destinations now fully open after years of pandemic restrictions, there has never been a better time to plan a trip. After considering local prices, accessibility and the variety of attractions in each destination, along with traveler feedback, U.S. News ranked the best places to visit in Asia. Contribute to next year's list by casting your vote below.

Sagarmatha National Park

Railay beach, guilin and lijiang river national park.

asia travel recensioni

If your dream vacation involves posting up on a postcard-worthy beach, the Maldives is for you. This far-flung destination, which is located about 370 miles from civilization in the Indian Ocean, is made up of more than 1,100 idyllic islands (roughly 200 of which are inhabited). The Maldives feature lush tropical landscapes, unparalleled white sand beaches, crystal-clear ocean waters and coral reefs that prompt extensive exploration. The best way to experience this slice of paradise? Stay in one of many overwater bungalows , of course.

asia travel recensioni

Tokyo is as fast-paced as cities come – it's the most populated city in the world, after all. Japan's capital features neon-lit skyscrapers and crowded streets that novice visitors may find dizzying, but its one-of-a-kind offerings can't be missed. Spend days touring quirky museums, exploring fascinating architecture or visiting Odaiba for its premier shopping scene. Or, take in some quieter, more peaceful moments at a holy site like the Meiji Shrine or Sensoji Temple. Tokyo's unrivaled gastronomic landscape (think: sushi, ramen, sky-high cocktail bars and more Michelin darlings than you could hope to visit) also makes it a bucket list destination for foodies.

asia travel recensioni

Phuket, Thailand's elongated beaches and cerulean waters embody a paradise that few other Asian destinations can rival. Besides swimming and relaxing on the beach, visitors can take traditional, wooden longtail boat tours to James Bond Island in Phang Nga Bay to see the surreal limestone rock formations that rise from the sea. The towering Big Buddha statue is also a top attraction, while Phuket's buzzing beach clubs and nightlife options hold appeal for those looking to let loose. What's more, like most destinations in Thailand, travelers can find relatively affordable lodging options here.

asia travel recensioni

This Nepalese national park is famous for housing the behemoth that is Mount Everest, the highest point on earth, and promises a once-in-a-lifetime adventure. However, it is important to know that Sagarmatha is not just Everest. The UNESCO-listed park also offers several other sky-high Himalayan peaks, as well as sweeping valleys, scenic glaciers, deep gorges and incredible wildlife, including snow leopards and red pandas. Just note, seeing the park's top attractions typically requires at least two weeks of trekking, and due to Sagarmatha's high elevation and rocky, steep terrain, a trip here isn't for the faint of heart.

asia travel recensioni

A British colony until 1997, Hong Kong's strong Western influence sets it apart from China's mainland metropolises. Beyond Hong Kong's sleek, towering skyscrapers (best admired from Victoria Peak), visitors can find natural and cultural gems on the more than 250 outlying islands, such as Lantau Island, or shop the city's bustling street markets. Dim sum is a must, but Hong Kong's robust dining scene also offers everything from street food to Michelin-starred fine dining. And when the sun goes down, watch the Symphony of Lights laser show dazzle the skyline along Victoria Harbor.

asia travel recensioni

Tucked among lush mountains in northwest Thailand, Chiang Mai offers a sized-down version of Bangkok's buzz paired with a tranquil culture and natural beauty. Your urban itinerary should include tuk-tuk rides, tours of breathtaking temples like Wat Chedi Luang Varavihara and Wat Phra Singh, trips to night markets and a cooking class to try your hand at pad Thai. Then, step outside of the city walls to visit an ethical elephant sanctuary or two and a wander through beautiful Doi Suthep-Pui National Park.

asia travel recensioni

History lovers and Instagrammers alike will revel in the sites of Kyoto. The city, which used to be Japan's capital until imperial times, is awash with centuries-old shrines and temples, including the gilded Kinkakuji and Fushimi Inari Taisha, a shrine that dates back to A.D. 711. In addition to saving time for religious sites, be sure to visit the famous Philosopher's Path, preferably during cherry blossom season, and the mystical Arashiyama Bamboo Grove. When hunger strikes, treat yourself to kaiseki: a traditional multicourse meal native to Japan. For another essential Japanese experience, stay at one of the many ryokans (traditional Japanese inns) in Kyoto. 

asia travel recensioni

From the moment you touchdown at Singapore Changi Airport (a tourist destination in itself), Singapore shows off its futuristic embellishment. But this Southeast Asia jewel is also unique for its amalgamation of cultures. This fusion takes form in the city's colorful neighborhoods, eclectic culinary scene and overall modern atmosphere. After shopping on flashy Orchard Road and chowing down in cultural enclaves like Little India or Chinatown, head downtown to take in the towering skyscrapers from Merlion Park, the Singapore Flyer or the sky-high Gardens by the Bay.

asia travel recensioni

The island nation of Sri Lanka, located off the southern tip of India, boasts rainforests, beaches and ruins without the tourist crowds of other popular Asian destinations. Despite its small footprint, Sri Lanka features 26 national parks, many of which are ideal for a safari excursion to encounter elephants, leopards and sloth bears. Meanwhile, ancient sites like Sigiriya, a 600-foot-high fortress, and the temples of Polonnaruwa hold their own appeal, and the palm-fringed golden beaches that line the shores are never too far away for those seeking a more laid-back vacation.

asia travel recensioni

Hanoi is perfect for first-time Vietnam visitors, with tranquil lakes offsetting its fast-paced bustle and darting motorbikes. The country's capital offers plenty in the way of history, culture, shopping, dining and natural splendor. Start your day off with a Vietnamese coffee, then head to Hanoi's central Old Quarter for a stroll through the many narrow, colorful streets and a taste of mouthwatering street food. After that, check out one of the city's many temples, including the ancient Temple of Literature, which dates back to the 11th century, or head to the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, a must-visit for history buffs.

asia travel recensioni

Bali's natural beauty is so profound, travelers have been known to refer to the Indonesian destination as "heaven on Earth." Here, lush rainforests, picturesque mountains, sweeping valleys and scenic beaches all sit side by side. You'll also find a handful of serene temples in this Southeast Asia hot spot, including Uluwatu and Tanah Lot temples – both excellent places to catch a sunset. And no first-time trip to Bali would be complete without on a visit to Ubud, Bali's cultural capital and home of the region's famous rice terraces.

asia travel recensioni

Whether you visit in spring (for cherry blossoms), summer (for climbing), autumn (for foliage) or winter (for nearby ski resorts), Japan's highest peak and imposing attraction is sure to capture your attention. Mount Fuji lies about 60 miles southwest of Tokyo, perfect for a daytrip from the city or a glimpse from a train ride, but this active volcano is also worthy of deeper exploration. Base yourself in the Fuji Five Lakes area to enjoy picture-perfect views at Arakurayama Sengen Park or from one of Lake Kawaguchiko's onsens (hot springs), and don't leave without sampling local hoto noodles.  

asia travel recensioni

If you only have time to go to one beach in Thailand, make it Railay Beach, one of the world's most beautiful beaches . Located in the country's Krabi province, Railay Beach features glistening white sands and is surrounded by limestone rock formations (covered in leafy green vegetation) that jut out from the sea. If you're feeling adventurous, explore the area's natural wonders with a rock climbing excursion or go for a nighttime kayak trip to see bioluminescent plankton. As if this beach destination couldn't get more alluring, you're only able to reach it by boat. Daytrips from nearby Ao Nang are popular among travelers.

asia travel recensioni

Siem Reap is the home of Angkor Wat, an ornate Buddhist temple built in the 12th century that is believed to be the largest religious monument in the world. The impressive landmark is just one of many must-sees within Cambodia's UNESCO World Heritage Site of Angkor. The complex also includes the equally detailed Angkor Thom and Ta Prohm Temple. Because of the immense popularity of Angkor (the site receives millions of visitors per year), you may want to travel during a shoulder month like March or November to avoid bumping elbows with fellow travelers.

asia travel recensioni

Travel to the capital of Indian state Rajasthan to marvel at the "Pink City's" incredible architecture. Hawa Mahal, a pink sandstone palace that was modeled after Hindu god Krishna's crown, is Jaipur's biggest claim to fame. The property's astounding 953 honeycomb-patterned windows allowed the original ladies of the royal family to view the comings and goings of the Indian city without being seen. Other structures worth seeing are the Jaigarh Fort, Panna Meena ka Kund and Jantar Mantar, a UNESCO World Heritage Site that displays larger-than-life astronomical instruments.

asia travel recensioni

Thailand's capital city is filled to the brim with eye-catching Hindu sites, nonstop nightlife and incredible Thai cuisine. Sacred sites like Wat Arun and Wat Pho are pockets of calm amidst Bangkok's skyscrapers. Shoppers can enjoy the Chatuchak Weekend Market, one of the world's largest street markets, or venture to one of the floating markets located outside the city. While in Bangkok, grab as much grub as possible from the street stalls, and at night, you won't want to miss the lofty views from one of the many rooftop bars.

asia travel recensioni

This national park is so loved and respected, its image is featured on China's paper currency. Guilin and Lijiang River National Park is located in the Guangxi region in the southeastern part of China. The Lijiang River runs about 50 miles from Guilin to Yangshuo, passing stunning landscapes and towering green karsts (eroded limestone) along the way. The best way to take in the otherworldly scenery is by boat cruise, though you may want to splurge on a luxury option since the trip can take up to five hours. Tourists who prefer to travel on their own time can also hike or bike along the river.

Multi-Day Tours with Culture Trip

Experience deeply immersive 7-14 days itineraries with a small group of like-minded people. See all tours

asia travel recensioni

South Korea 10 Day s

Soulful South Korea

Connect with Korea through its food, natural splendor and vibrant cultural heritage.

asia travel recensioni

Taiwan 9 Day s

A Taste of Taiwan by Train

From city night markets to serene lakes via stunning coastal train routes in tranquil Taiwan.

asia travel recensioni

Japan 12 Day s

Japan by Train: The Grand Tour

Osaka to Tokyo, via historic cities and natural wonders, on Japan’s high-tech train network.

asia travel recensioni

Thailand & Laos 14 Day s

Incredible Thailand and Laos by Train

This border-crossing epic marries Southeast Asian escapism with the timeless romance of train travel.

Average Customer Rating 4.7 out of 5, verified by Feefo

Vote to Add these Destinations to the Rankings

asia travel recensioni

Luang Prabang

asia travel recensioni

Kuala Lumpur

You may be interested in.

asia travel recensioni

Best Places to Visit in Thailand

asia travel recensioni

Best Places to Visit in Japan

asia travel recensioni

Australia & The Pacific

Best Places to Visit in Australia and The Pacific in 2023

asia travel recensioni

Africa & The Middle East

Best Places to Visit in Africa in 2023

asia travel recensioni

Central & South America

Best Places to Visit in Central and South America in 2023

asia travel recensioni

World's Best Places to Visit for 2023-2024

If you make a purchase from our site, we may earn a commission. This does not affect the quality or independence of our editorial content.

Recommended

The 28 Best Water Parks in the U.S. for 2024

Holly Johnson|Timothy J. Forster May 8, 2024

asia travel recensioni

The 18 Best Napa Valley Wineries to Visit in 2024

Lyn Mettler|Sharael Kolberg April 23, 2024

asia travel recensioni

The 25 Best Beaches on the East Coast for 2024

Timothy J. Forster|Sharael Kolberg April 19, 2024

asia travel recensioni

The 50 Best Hotels in the USA 2024

Christina Maggitas February 6, 2024

asia travel recensioni

The 32 Most Famous Landmarks in the World

Gwen Pratesi|Timothy J. Forster February 1, 2024

asia travel recensioni

9 Top All-Inclusive Resorts in Florida for 2024

Gwen Pratesi|Amanda Norcross January 5, 2024

asia travel recensioni

24 Top All-Inclusive Resorts in the U.S. for 2024

Erin Evans January 4, 2024

asia travel recensioni

26 Top Adults-Only All-Inclusive Resorts for 2024

Zach Watson December 28, 2023

asia travel recensioni

Solo Vacations: The 36 Best Places to Travel Alone in 2024

Lyn Mettler|Erin Vasta December 22, 2023

asia travel recensioni

26 Cheap Beach Vacations for Travelers on a Budget

Kyle McCarthy|Sharael Kolberg December 4, 2023

asia travel recensioni

Southeast Asia forum

  • Travel forum
  • Southeast Asia

Welcome and Terms of Use Sticky!

Hi, I'm somtam2000 and I'll be moderating the Travelfish travel board. I'm here to answer all your questions -- or at least the ones I know the answer to -- as for those that are mysteries to me, perhaps other Travelfish members will be able to answer. You'll see you need to be a member to post a new question or answer an existing one, but if you're already a Travelfish member, you don't need to join again. Your existing login works just fine. A few of general pointers; 1) I do have to ...

Viewed 24,715 times, with no replies.

Mobile phone while travelling

My partner and I are soon due to set off for long term travel (minimum 12 months) round South East Asia. Destinations include India, Sri Lanka, Cambodia, Vietnam and Indonesia. While we don't feel the need to be constantly contactable we would like to be able to call each other when the need arises, call family in the UK and have online access. Does anybody have recommendations of mobile options? Ideally we would want one number we don't need to keep changing from one country to the nex ...

Viewed 7,854 times, with 3 replies.

Wats and mosques

So have been tossing a question over in my head, and I thought I’d run it by the Travelfish hive-mind.

Pick up any paper travel guide (or Travelfish) and flip to some second-tier Thai town, and more often than not a Buddhist temple will be listed. Do the same for Indonesia or Malaysia and you’re far less likely to see a mosque listed.

I went through our listings, and for Southeast Asia, we list 418 wats individually and 17 mosques... There will be a few more in ...

Viewed 2,265 times, with 3 replies.

Southeast Asia Entry and Exit during Covid

Hi,  My husband and I are planning a trip next summer to Thailand, Laos, and Vietnam. We're flexible with exact cities and even countries depending on what happens with Covid-19 restrictions. As of now, we are planning to fly into [url=https://www.travelfish.org/location/vietnam/hanoi_and_surrounds/hanoi/hanoi] [url=https://www.travelfish.org/location/vietnam/hanoi_and_surrounds/hanoi/hanoi]Hanoi[/url] [/url] and spend about a week in Vietnam, then do about 4 days in Laos and another week ...

Viewed 2,798 times, with 1 reply.

Carbon offsets

A question for Travelfish readers. Do you buy carbon offsets for your flights? I'm looking into it at the moment and am wondering about calculating them? I already know the project I want to support, but I'm trying to get a handle on how best to calculate the offset—the calculators I’ve found online are pretty vague on the details. For instance, are the amount tonnes affected by the type of aircraft or how full the flight is? Your thoughts much appreciated! Thanks ...

Viewed 3,593 times, with 5 replies.

Recommendations for Buddhist meditation retreats?

Hi all, Planning my first solo trip to South East Asia, arriving in KL in January. I enjoy meditation and learning about Buddhist principles, and wondered if anyone could recommend a retreat? Probably something from 3-7 days. Most of the retreats I've come across focus largely on meditation, but it would be great if there was also one that including teaching sessions. I have no concrete plans as yet, although my initial list of countries is: Malaysia, Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, Camb ...

Viewed 2,275 times, with no replies.

Gili Gede Overview Part 1

Inspired by a TRAVELFISH NEWLETTER feature on G GEDE, I decided to use 10 daysafter LADY T went home from our annual BALI trip (she missed hergrandkids) to check it out - helped by learning GILI FAST BOAT nowruns one of the speedy (albeit expensive) craft from SERANGAN nearKUTA BALI to the pier opposite their KOKOMO resort via NUSASLEMBONGAN and PENIDA. I’m over the slog up to PADANGBAI for theslow ferry to LEMBAR and didn’t fancy the onward hassle of reachingGEDE. GILI GEDE is located in ...

Viewed 2,377 times, with 2 replies.

experiences of solo travellers age over 40 backpacking in SEA

Hello All I am planning on travelling 12 weeks in SEA (thinking Thailand, Vietnam, Loas, Cambodia) early next year. I have never travelled solo before or even backpacked. Whilst I am ok with travelling alone i think it’s always nice meeting people, sharing stories etc. Otherwise can imagine 3 months with minimum interaction with others could (atleast for me) make me homesick. How has the experiences of over 40 solo traveller been. ? Did you backpack ? Easy to make travel buddies ...

Viewed 3,659 times, with 4 replies.

Has anyone here been to Bangladesh? Any suggestions for good resources for planning a trip? The Lonely Planet guide is somewhat thin! ...

Viewed 3,437 times, with 3 replies.

Help! Rookies in SE Asia

Hi, We will be traveling for 2 weeks in Southeast Asia from Dec. 12-27) and are trying to figure out a good plan. All of the advice we have read say keep it simple and don't add too many destinations. Our rough thoughts right now are these. Does this sound doable? Ideas for a better plan? To save time, we will fly, except for the shorter trips. Is there a way to fit in a beach day somewhere here? 1. Bangkok (2-3 days?) 2. Fly to [url=https://www.travelfish.org/location/thailand/northern_ ...

Viewed 5,091 times, with 24 replies.

Dog/Cat meat in SE-Asia

Hi guys, we are planning our next trip to SE-Asia next May, and we were thinking bout Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia or so. The thing I am not sure bout anyway is the visibility of dog and cat consumption. Don´t get me wrong. I am moraly ok with animals beeing eaten, though I myself are vegetarian. To me it is equally ok if someone eats cow or chicken or dog. I am totally aware that consumption of dog/cat meat is a thing in many countries (I´m an archaeologist, I even excavated slaughtere ...

Viewed 3,537 times, with 4 replies.

Island hopping

From [url=http://archive.aweber.com/travelfish/BB7px/h/Travelfish_317_The_Bukit_.htm]this week’s newsletter[/url]: We often see itinerary enquiries pop in that read like they were spat out of an island random name generator. Stuff like: “I'm going to be in Thailand for two weeks and plan to go to Ko Lipe, Ko Tarutao, Ko Bulon Lae, Ko Muk, Ko Kradan, Ko Ngai, Ko Lanta, Ko Jum, Ko Pha Ngan, both Ko Changs and maybe Ko Samet, but I'm struggling to figure out the best way to fit them in and ...

Viewed 3,180 times, with no replies.

One way travel to SE Asia

My partner and I are soon to be setting off from the UK for long term travel round SE Asia, with the ultimate goal being to find somewhere to settle and become residents. With that in mind we will only be getting one way flights and our travel plans will be very flexible, not entirely sure how long we will spend in each country, or even where we will travel to! I'm after advice/experiences regarding one way travel and the requirements regarding onward travel, as I understand it many countrie ...

Viewed 4,689 times, with 5 replies.

Scooter from Danang to Siem Reap

Hi there I am thinking of buying a scooter in Danang and going via the back roads to Siem Reap. My research tells me that it is ok to take a Vietnamese plated scooter into Cambodia. I am an experienced rider and I have a scooter here in Australia where I ride a couple of times a week. Can anyone give me any more info on this? How are the roads etc? Any help would be help. ...

Viewed 4,280 times, with 5 replies.

Hi, If someone were to be traveling to Southeast Asia (Thailand and other countries), if they had done drugs several times in other countries, specifically coke and weed, could they be in any trouble arriving in Southeast Asia (Thailand and other countries). They would be bringing nothing into the country at all, just thinking of trace elements or maybe grains of stuff sticking to a shirt or pants or in a travel pack. The clothes would obviously be washed. And if they're suspicious of ...

Viewed 4,952 times, with 2 replies.

SE Asia in October

Hello, we are a family of 4 planning a round the world trip for 3 months july to october 2018. For the moment we have planned up to Tokyo which we will leave end of september, which leaves us a month to travel from Tokyo to Paris (home) so SE Asia would be the obvious choice if October wasn't one of the worst times to actually be in the area... We already have some ideas, but I would like to hear from you, what would you do ? do you think it is reasonable to leave it to the last minu ...

Viewed 3,538 times, with no replies.

Early Itinerary Planning for SEA

Can I get a general critique of these two itineraries? This will be out first trip to Southeast Asia. We have only been to India and Japan in Asia but was have traveled a lot in Europe. It's just me and my wife. We are a energetic couple in our late 30s. Does this itinerary flow OK? Are we spending to much time anywhere. We plan to travel use Bus expect for the flight and boat. Is this reasonable? I prefer option 1 but the cost of plane flight may force me into option 2. Option 1 Friday, Dece ...

Viewed 5,217 times, with 2 replies.

Exclusive for Travelfish readers: 7% discount with Agoda coupon code

Just a quick note to let you all know we've done a deal with Agoda to let Travelfish readers save an additional 7% when booking with Agoda. This is how it works: The discount can be used in conjunction with other discounts and is valid for all properties which display a "Promotion eligible" image. It is not valid for properties where you pay at the hotel. To get the discount, you go to a special page on Agoda here: [url=https://www.agoda.com/travelfish]https://www.agoda.com/travelfish[/url ...

Viewed 8,391 times, with no replies.

off-grid place far from the crowds

Hi everyone! Maybe some of you could suggest some really "basic" and quiet places, maybe without internet and electricity, or just generators some hours per day. I am not afraid of living on a low standard, and not because of the budget aspect, but because I actually enjoy it... Nice nature and, friendly locals, and environmentally conscious backpackers and a quiet atmosphere, are just a few things I am looking for... I am open to all sort of places: villages, mountains, islands... Please let ...

Viewed 4,833 times, with 1 reply.

Burma, Bangkok, or Hanoi for a year of University.

Help me! I have to chose the place for my year abroad at Uni. They each have their appeal. I'm studying languages and anthropology. What I love are beaches and food. Trying to decide which place can offer the most and best of both. Any advice gratefully received ...

Viewed 6,532 times, with 1 reply.

Please login to add a new post

You need to be a Travelfish member to be able to add a post to the forum. After logging in you'll be returned to this page automatically to add your post. Not a member? Join up here .

Travel Forums Asia

Start a New Topic

Please read the Forum Rules and How To Get The Most Out Of Your Forum Post before posting.

All things Asian

Asia and Africa Family Travel Forum

To benefit from this Forum, please use the Reply link under a topic of interest – or start your own topic

* Home Page › Forums › Asia and Africa Family Travel Forum

  • This forum has 110 topics, 233 replies, and was last updated 1 day, 16 hours ago by matildah22 .

Started by: Alex180KS

Started by: William

Started by: Thangavel

Henry Clark

Started by: dredhoang

georgemiller

Started by: Sergpwe

Started by: Raunak Jain

dhow cruise

Started by: Kris

Review Hai Phong

Started by: hatem.sunpy

hatem.sunpy

Started by: ThomasRussell

Started by: Eugene89

wetraveltogether

Started by: Abinaya

Started by: Promise India Tourism

Started by: Zee raza

Started by: Harka Gurung

Started by: sarasarry

Started by: ardenkulikowski

ardenkulikowski

Started by: wetraveltogether

Started by: Peopleplaces

Peopleplaces

Started by: QuentinChinnn

Anastasia Ahley

Started by: amina sofia

Name (required):

Email (will not be published) (required):

Topic Title (Maximum Length: 80):

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Insert/edit link.

Enter the destination URL

Or link to existing content

The foolproof packing list for Asia: 16 must-have travel essentials

Photo of author

Welcome to our ultimate packing list for Asia travel essentials

From mountainous jungle to enticing oceans, massive religious monuments to historical ruins, Asia has so much to discover. When you also consider how cheaply you can travel much of the continent, there is no wonder it is one of the best backpacking destinations in the world.

Given that Asia is so immense, many visitors opt to travel slowly across Asia to absorb as much of the beauty and culture as possible. 

With that in mind, we have come up with this handy packing list for Asia travel fundamentals and gadgets to help long term travelers and short term tourists alike.

Where the recommended product is a little expensive, we have also recommended a budget option too.

You may also enjoy:

  • Best International Travel Surge Protector
  • Best Extension Cord For International Travel
  • Best Travel Crib For Flying | Top 10 And Buying Guide
Coming up Traveling Fundamentals Recommended travel tech Travel Health The ultimate must-have essential Affiliate disclosure: The links to tours or accommodation in this post are affiliate links. This means if you purchase after following one of these links, I make a small commission at no cost to yourself. Think of it like a win-win ?

Traveling Fundamentals

A bloody good backpack.

You gotta have one of these if your backpacking right? Since there is tons of walking when visiting Asia, a comfortable and well-organized backpack is a travel necessity. 

There are a couple of things you may want to consider before investing in a backpack. First is if it has waterproof features, it is common to get caught in sudden downpours in certain parts of Asia frequently.

The other important consideration is if you be checking it in. If you plan not to, make sure it fits the requirements of a carry on backpack .

We recommend: Osprey Packs Farpoint 40 travel backpack

Of course, the backpack you need will depend heavily on the size you require, however you cannot go far wrong with the Osprey brand. One such backpack is the Osprey Farpoint 40 that opens like a suitcase. Made of a durable material osprey Farpoint 40 boasts of roomy compartments, a plethora of pockets and lockable zips to keep your all your travel gears intact. For maximum comfort when covering long distances, the pack has generous padding and adjustable straps for perfect fitting.  The long-term traveler will appreciate the padded laptop sleeve and a lifetime warranty that comes with Osprey products. 

asia travel recensioni

On a tight budget? Try the Gonex 55L hiking backpack with rain cover

asia travel recensioni

Packing Cubes 

When I discovered packing cubes, it was a game changer when packing for long-term travel. They maximized space and helped my previously disaster zone of a backpack to stay organized. They also come in handy when separating clean clothes from dirty ones. The good thing is that they come in various sizes to accommodate different sizes of clothes. For easier identification of the piles of crap that will accumulate in your backpack,  you may find it easier to pack in cubes of different colors.

We recommend: Eagle Creek Pack It Original Starter Set

Eagle Creek makes excellent packing cubes. They are lightweight, washable, and made of top quality fabric. With over four colors and different sizes to choose from Eagle Creek is a must have for every backpacker.

asia travel recensioni

On a tight budget? Try the 7-pc Travel Packing Cube System

asia travel recensioni

Backpack lock

Traveling with unlocked luggage can weigh on your mind, especially when you are in dorms. Now I will happily say that almost all of the hostels that I have stayed in, I have felt confident that my stuff is safe, but there is always one or two where you feel a little nervous about leaving things behind. opportunity. That is why I have tracked down some backpack locking systems for my packing list for Asia.

We recommend: Pacsafe Backpack and Bag Protector

For ultimate peace of mind, take a look at this full on wire mesh backpack lock. You just slip the backpack in there, lock it up and no one will be getting in.

asia travel recensioni

On a tight budget? Try the TSA Approved Luggage Locks

While these locks aren’t perfect, most thefts are a spur of the moment decisions and by adding a lock to your backpack, it will certainly deter thieves. The cables on these locks are a good length and should slip over most buckles as well as zips. If it is too small, you can always connect two together.

asia travel recensioni

Ultra-portable water  bottles

To keep well hydrated and save on the cost of purchasing bottled water ever time, one of the best travel accessories to pack is a lightweight bottle.  Reusable water bottles also help in reducing plastic waste accumulation. Since drinking water is readily available in Asia, you just fill your bottle before long day adventures and enjoy your travels.

We recommend: Vapur Element BPA Free Foldable Water Bottle

Vapur element flexible bottle is a great solution. It is foldable, takes up little space, is cheap and BPA free. You can freeze water with them, and they are easy to clean.

asia travel recensioni

On a tight budget? Try the Qnch Collapsible Water Bottle

asia travel recensioni

Portable luggage scale 

Overweight luggage can decimate your budget quicker than an ice cream melts on the equator. So to avoid this, a great little accessory is a small luggage scale.

We recommend: Camry luggage scale

With Camry portable travel scale, there is no more guesswork or excess baggage you can travel confidently. Camry is accurate, easy to hook on the bag, and is small enough to fit in your backpack. This handheld digital scale comes with a battery that holds power for a long time. The digital readout display is visible and large. 

asia travel recensioni

A headlamp is a  great travel accessory for outdoor activities, especially for long-term travelers backpacking Asia.  Whether it is during unexpected power outages, hiking at dusk or merely trying to find the toilet at midnight in a dorm room when others are sleeping, headlamps are part and parcel of your travel packing list.  

Unlike a flashlight, the great thing with headlamps is that they free your hands so you can multitask while ensuring your path is well lighted.

We recommend: GRDE rechargeable headlamp

We love the GRDE rechargeable headlamp, it is one one the brightest headlamps available while also being waterproof should you get caught in the rain. We also love the fact that it is a rechargeable headlamp but it can also be powered by standard batteries should you find yourself away from power for an extended period of time. Finally, it boasts of three brightness level that can be adjusted by the switch (perfect for not disturbing dorm mates), lightweight and has a comfortable and adjustable strap.

asia travel recensioni

On a tight budget? Try the LE Headlamp with 4 lighting modes

asia travel recensioni

Microfiber travel towel

Trust us when we say a packable travel towel is essential travel gear. We have seen many of the rentable towels in hostels, and quite frankly, we’d rather not see them again. Look for a towel that occupies minimal space in your backpack yet a quality product that lasts.  Due to variation in climate travelers envy a quick-drying material that is washable and durable.

We recommend: ECOdept microfiber travel towel

The Ecodept microfiber travel towel is a great choice. Made of a soft, absorbent, quick drying, and feather-light material, the microfiber towels comes in different sizes.  When rolled, it will fit comfortably in your carryon without eating space. 

Note: To ensure they retain their absorbency, avoid using fabric softeners and detergents.

asia travel recensioni

On a tight budget? Try the 4MONSTER packable microfiber towel

asia travel recensioni

There will be a stage in your journey where these come in handy. Crossing the Zambezi to take a leap into the Devil’s Pool or just swimming in the ocean and don’t fancy leaving your valuables behind, a dry bag can come to the rescue.

They are great little things to stow away as they really don’t take up much space and offer plenty of use.

We Recommend: Freegrace Waterproof Dry Bags

These dry bags feature double closure strip seals at the top to prevent water from coming in and the larger bags also have added protection with a roll top fastening. They are extremely sturdy, lightweight, tear resistant and best of all, it floats.

asia travel recensioni

Recommended Travel Tech

Portable travel charger .

These have been a lifesaver for many travelers visiting Asia.  Not much is more irritating than getting a flat battery in a foreign land. Given that while traveling, you will often find yourself outdoors or in transit and away from power outlets, the chances are that at some point, your phone is going to run out of juice. Don’t underestimate how much Google mapping, communicating with loved ones that you’re safe, and of course taking millions of amazing pictures to show off to your friends stuck at home. These are all battery sapping behaviors, so a backup powerpack is borderline essential . 

Note: Most power banks use lithium-ion batteries that most airlines won’t allow to be checked I, so make sure you keep it in your carry on. Having been over the Atlantic ocean while smelling burning on a plane as one of these set fire in the hold, I can promise, it is for a reason. It is not a nice feeling!

We recommend: Anker PowerCore Lite 20000mAh Portable Charger

The Anker 20000Mah power bank offers great value. With two USB ports, Anker is super fast at charging and easy to use. Just make sure you remember to charge the charger, plugging your phone into it to see it too is dead is awful, trust me, I’ve been there.

asia travel recensioni

On a tight budget? Try the ZMI PowerPack 10000mAh Fast Charging Portable Battery Pack

asia travel recensioni

Lightweight but great travel camera

While phones are getting better at taking photos every day, for most serious photo-backpackers, a camera is an absolute essential travel accessory.  There is nothing more fulfilling than capturing your best travel moments, scenic landscapes, and iconic attractions. Given that Asian destinations are a dream for photographers, an excellent lightweight camera is a must have for backpackers. While DSRL seems to do a great job, they are heavy and may not be an excellent choice for the minimalist traveler or long term traveler traversing Asia due to portability.  

We recommend: Sony Alpha 6000 mirrorless camera

The Sony Alpha 6000 mirrorless camera is a great choice.  Apart from being reasonably priced, a6000 captures fantastic photos and record great videos at 1080/60p. Thanks to its easily accessible manual settings featuring the menu button, dual function dials, and function button beginners can easily customize the settings. It has an in-built Wi-Fi and is light to travel with. It features filters, epic low-light performance, and autofocus system to ensure the quality of your images is maintained. 

asia travel recensioni

On a tight budget? Try the Nikon COOLPIX B500 digital camera

asia travel recensioni

Pocket wifi

An international wifi hotspot is incredibly useful when it comes to long-term travel. A connection has become an essential ingredient of everyday life.  The most common challenge travelers’ face is slow speed, unstable and insecure WI-FI. Since most long-term travelers work online to sustain their nomadic lifestyle, stable and robust portable Wi-Fi is non-negotiable. Portable Wi-Fi comes in handy when traveling across many countries as you need to keep in touch with your clients.

We recommend: GlocalMe 4G LTE International WiFi Hospot

If you plan on spending much time exploring Asia, then Glocalme mobile hotspot is your perfect match. It is super fast and can basically keep you connected in most countries, especially in Asia. Glocalme comes in three different packages depending on the number of countries you intend to visit. This wireless connectivity password protected to avoid data leakage and can connect to multiple devices.

asia travel recensioni

On a tight budget? Try the ZTE Velocity 4G LTE Mobile Pocket WiFi Hotspot

asia travel recensioni

Noise Cancelling Headphones 

Crying babies, snoring passengers or noisy neighborhoods, we’ve all had our peaceful journeys affected by one of these at some point, right? This can be frustrating, especially at night or during long flights, making it hard to sleep, read, or simply stay calm. Well, the good news is that noise canceling technology is fantastic and a great travel accessory.

We recommend: Bose QuietComfort 35 II

Bose quiet comfort 35 is an excellent choice that guarantees calm and peaceful travel experience.  It has unparalleled noise cancellation, long battery life, and superior sound quality and is Bluetooth enabled.

asia travel recensioni

On a tight budget? Try the COWIN E7 Active Noise Cancelling Headphones

asia travel recensioni

Travel extension cord with USB

If you are an avid traveler, you’ve probably noticed that power outlets are not always located in the most convenient spots.  Whether you are in hotels, hostels, cafes, or airports, you may find that outlets are too few to charge all your gadgets. A power strip with multiple outlets and extension cord is your ideal travel companion. It gives you the freedom to charge multiple tech devices at once and close to your desired spot.

On a tight budget? Try the TESSAN 3 outlets travel power strip with surge protector

When it comes to Asia TESSAN portable power strip is the best.  For your convenience it futures 5 feet extension cord, three USB ports, two power plug slots, and fireproof material. If you want extra protection for your devices, you can bring a surge protector along.

asia travel recensioni

On a tight budget? Try the UPWADE Outlet Travel Power Strip

asia travel recensioni

Travel Health

Basic first aid kit.

One of those things you hope to never have to use, but you’ll bless the stars if you need it and you have it. Nothing too fancy, just have some plasters, anti-septic wipes, that kind f thing in the case that you get a nasty cut or even have to patch up some leech bites . . . tasty.

We recommend: 66 Pieces Soft Shell Travel First Aid Kit

This little pack is the perfect size for stuffing in your back pack and forgetting about it. For the tiny space inside, it packs a lot in there with almost everything you may need for any unwanted scrapes on the road. apart from tiger attacks. If you get attacked by a tiger, you’re probably better off heading straight to hospital rather than putting a plaster on it.

asia travel recensioni

Portable UV sanitizing wand

OK, time for you to gross out for a minute. Have you ever considered the number of bugs on hotel sheets or even hostel mattresses? Trust me, it’s a lot more than you would probably think.

For the most part, they are harmless. But a lot of travelers don’t fancy sharing their bed with the microscopic hitchhikers. So, luckily some technology will help, the bug killing wand. 

We recommend: UV Care ultraviolet sanitizing wand

This portable device uses the power of concentrated UV Rays to kill off many of the germs and bacteria that get in its way. While it’s not going to get everything, it will undoubtedly be an improvement. It will even come in handy for your own sleeping bag if you are traveling long term.

asia travel recensioni

Other recommend health essentials

I just wanted to give you a few extra suggestions that you may want to consider picking up from a local pharmacy before you travel. While they may take up a bit of space and you may never use them, trust me when I say searching for a pharmacy while suffering from crippling diarrhea in a foreign land just to save a bit of space is not fun.

  • Insect repellent
  • Diarrhea Medicine
  • Hand sanitizer
  • Rehydration sachets

Final product

So here it is, my top recommendation that I swore like a trooper when I didn’t have it and have never left it behind since. A plug. Yep, it’s that simple. It was when traveling through Africa that I had to do some laundry and none of the damn sinks had plugs. Now I don’t know if you have ever tried cleaning your underwear under running water, but it is bloody difficult. The great thing about a universal plug it is that you will never expect to use, it, you may not even do so, but when you need one, it is very hard to plug a sink with a sock. for the price vs. space vs. how useful it is should you need one, I highly recommend packing one.

We recommend: Universal Silicone Sink Plug

There’s not much I can say about it but look . . . It has a world map on it, that’s cool. ?

asia travel recensioni

If you wanted to know more about my trip through Africa, I have a fun travel diary, How to clean your underwear in Africa , available on Amazon. You can also get a digital copy by joining my mailing list . Only updates, no spam 🙂

Final Words

Travel accessories make trips smooth and more enjoyable.  They save space, time, and money and offer traveler peace of mind. While the packing list may differ from each individual, the above-listed items are very beneficial and are worthy of investing in.

Leave a comment Cancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed .

Members can access discounts and special features

Elektrostal, visit elektrostal, check elektrostal hotel availability, popular places to visit.

  • Electrostal History and Art Museum

You can spend time exploring the galleries in Electrostal History and Art Museum in Elektrostal. Take in the museums while you're in the area.

  • Cities near Elektrostal

Photo by Ksander

  • Places of interest
  • Yuri Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center
  • Central Museum of the Air Forces at Monino
  • Peter the Great Military Academy
  • History of Russian Scarfs and Shawls Museum
  • Bykovo Manor
  • Balashikha Arena
  • Malenky Puppet Theater
  • Fryazino Centre for Culture and Leisure
  • Military Technical Museum
  • Church of Our Lady of Kazan
  • Drama Theatre BOOM
  • Balashikha Museum of History and Local Lore
  • Pekhorka Park
  • Orekhovo Zuevsky City Exhibition Hall
  • Borisoglebsky Sports Palace
  • Ramenskii History and Art Museum
  • Church of Vladimir
  • Shirokov House
  • Noginsk Museum and Exhibition Center
  • Pavlovsky Posad Museum of Art and History
  • Saturn Stadium
  • Zheleznodorozhny Museum of Local Lore
  • Stella Municipal Drama Theater
  • Fairy Tale Children's Model Puppet Theater
  • Fifth House Gallery
  • Likino Dulevo Museum of Local Lore
  • Malakhovka Museum of History and Culture
  • Art Gallery of The City District

Expedia Rewards is now One Key™

Elektrostal, visit elektrostal, check elektrostal hotel availability, popular places to visit.

  • Electrostal History and Art Museum

You can spend time exploring the galleries in Electrostal History and Art Museum in Elektrostal. Take in the museums while you're in the area.

  • Cities near Elektrostal

Photo by Ksander

  • Places of interest
  • Yuri Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center
  • Central Museum of the Air Forces at Monino
  • Peter the Great Military Academy
  • Bykovo Manor
  • Balashikha Arena
  • Malenky Puppet Theater
  • Balashikha Museum of History and Local Lore
  • Pekhorka Park
  • Orekhovo Zuevsky City Exhibition Hall
  • Ramenskii History and Art Museum
  • Noginsk Museum and Exhibition Center
  • Saturn Stadium

COMMENTS

  1. Asia

    Where to travel in June 2025? South America, Europe, or Southeast Asia. Gary0144 on Jun 16th, 2024. Singapore , Thailand , Vietnam. Jun 17th, 2024 10:04 AM.

  2. Asia travel forum

    Visas and border crossings. 878 posts, 2,180 replies. Visa - Indonesia to Dubai in 2021. By neharani, 9 Aug 2021. Trip reports. 447 posts, 995 replies. Durga Puja Celebration in Kolkata. By lavanya, 4 Oct 2021. Travel videos.

  3. 17 Best Places to Visit in Asia

    Guilin and Lijiang River National Park. #17 in Best Places to Visit in Asia. This national park is so loved and respected, its image is featured on China's paper currency. Guilin and Lijiang River ...

  4. Asia

    06/03/19 06:11 PM. 77 posts. I've decided to do a Tokyo/Hong Kong combination trip with 4 nights in each city (possibly 5 and 3 too) sometime in late November-early December. Thank you all for your suggestions as these 2 cities seem to be the best fit for my first Asia experience.

  5. Asia Forums

    Asia Forums. Visit Tripadvisor, your source for the web's best unbiased reviews of vacations, hotels, and resorts, worldwide. Also features discount vacation and travel packages.

  6. Southeast Asia travel forum

    Viewed 2,265 times, with 3 replies. Southeast Asia Entry and Exit during Covid. Posted by FarrOut on 28/11/2021 at 16:57. Hi, My husband and I are planning a trip next summer to Thailand, Laos, and Vietnam. We're flexible with exact cities and even countries depending on what happens with Covid-19 restrictions.

  7. Asiatravel.com review

    23 reviews. 51 helpful votes. 1. Re: Asiatravel.com review. 17 years ago. I had used their service for KL, very good service. I got lost in KL (First time there yrs ago) and cannot find the Hotel i was booked in, so I call to change to another Hotel which is in their list & it was done in 30min (While I hang around the Hotel lobby) ^__^. Report ...

  8. Asia

    Asia Forum. Travel Forums Asia Start a New Topic. Login Join. Before you post: check the Asia Travel Guides. Peter 8. 2y - nareshpatel. FAQ - Thailand - Visa. Hien 134. 11y - Shivamkumar56. Indonesia - Sumatra & Jawa Recommendations. MarkyNomad 1. 14h - karazyal. Borneo and diving Sipadan.

  9. asiatravelforums

    Hello and welcome to my new community, Asia Travel Forums. A starting question: I have been to Thailand multiple times, Bangkok and Udon Thani. The weather is definitely nicer up north in Udon Thani, but the humidity will still get you. There are many things to do and see in Bangkok, including temple tours, the floating market, and the ...

  10. Is Asiatravel a reliable online booking agent?

    Hong Kong Travel Forum; Search. Browse all 48,641 Hong Kong topics » Is Asiatravel a reliable online booking agent? Watch this Topic. Browse forums; All. Browse by destination. ... Asia Travel House. 60 Reviews . View Hotel. Hong Kong, China . Silvermine Beach Resort. 531 Reviews . View Hotel. Hong Kong, China . A-Inn. 30 Reviews . View Hotel.

  11. Excellent travel agent for my Central Asian trip

    43 helpful votes. 1. Re: Excellent travel agent for my Central Asian trip. 11 years ago. I recommend contacting Zulya at silkroadtreasuretours.com. She was born in Uzbekistan, still has family there, and now has a travel agency in New Jersey, but still travels to the Stans to review hotels, restaurants, and local guides.

  12. My experience with Asia Highlights

    It was difficult to find any good sources and did not have time to do research. I booked Asia Highlights, a Chinese-based company, and on paper, they got me what I needed: they booked drivers to/from the airport, hotels, some sightseeing and travel between cities. Problems: major lack of clarity. No organization. Unanswered questions.

  13. Asia and Africa Family Travel Forum

    Asia and Africa Family Travel Forum. To benefit from this Forum, please use the Reply link under a topic of interest - or start your own topic. Share questions and answers about travel to Asia and Africa, plus any reviews, travel tips and restaurant suggestions, in our Asia and Africa family travel forum bulletin boards. This forum has 110 ...

  14. asiatravel.com

    It is a listed (public) company based in Singapore and appears to be highly reputable, and seems to have the best selection of hotels and best prices in Singapore, Philippines and Hong Kong by far, but in some other countries such as Australia its offering is poor and prices high. Report inappropriate content. salpepe.

  15. asia travel

    Answer 1 of 12: How reliable is Asia travel for hotel reservation specially their Crazy rate?

  16. S.E. Asia Travel Destinations

    S.E. Asia Travel Destinations. If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. ... Islas Baleares | Travel Forum. Collapse. Visit us on Facebook. Collapse. Thai Forum. Experience the magnificent ASEAN Cultural Zones, Lifestyles, Environment and Ethnic Diversity. ASEAN Visa Options

  17. The foolproof packing list for Asia: 16 must-have travel essentials

    One such backpack is the Osprey Farpoint 40 that opens like a suitcase. Made of a durable material osprey Farpoint 40 boasts of roomy compartments, a plethora of pockets and lockable zips to keep your all your travel gears intact. For maximum comfort when covering long distances, the pack has generous padding and adjustable straps for perfect ...

  18. Asiatravel.com reviews

    Easy and affordable. by Pius on 25 May 2024. To get my travel insurance was very easy and affordable. Fast Cover Travel Insurance 4.7. Asiatravel.com (Booking Service): 1.8 out of 5 stars from 12 genuine reviews on Australia's largest opinion site ProductReview.com.au.

  19. Asia travel

    Asia travel, Pontecorvo, Italy. 1,134 likes · 5 talking about this · 31 were here. Biglietteria aerea - Ferroviaria - Navale - Viaggi individuali e di gruppo Biglietti per concerti

  20. Visit Elektrostal: 2024 Travel Guide for Elektrostal, Moscow Oblast

    Travel guide resource for your visit to Elektrostal. Discover the best of Elektrostal so you can plan your trip right. Vacation Packages. Stays. Cars. Flights. Support. All travel. Vacation Packages Stays Cars Flights Cruises Support Things to do. ... Asia; Elektrostal. Travel Guide. Check-in.

  21. THE BEST Things to Do in Valuyevo

    Things to Do in Valuyevo, Russia: See Tripadvisor's 122 traveler reviews and photos of Valuyevo tourist attractions. Find what to do today, this weekend, or in May. We have reviews of the best places to see in Valuyevo. Visit top-rated & must-see attractions.

  22. Visit Elektrostal: 2024 Travel Guide for Elektrostal, Moscow Oblast

    Asia; Plan your trip. Hotels in Elektrostal Vacation Rentals in Elektrostal Flights to Elektrostal Car Rentals in Elektrostal Elektrostal Vacation Packages. Elektrostal. Travel Guide. Check-in. Check-out. Guests. Search. Explore map. Visit Elektrostal. Things to do. Check Elektrostal hotel availability.

  23. Elektrostal, Russia: All You Must Know Before You Go (2024

    A mix of the charming, modern, and tried and true. See all. Apelsin Hotel. 43. from $48/night. Apart Hotel Yantar. 2. from $28/night. Elektrostal Hotel.