Bikepacking Alliance

2023 Trek FX Sport 5 Review

Are you planning on buying a hybrid bike this year and want to ensure you’re getting your money’s worth? If so, you need to read our Trek FX Sport 5 review before making a decision.

The Trek FX Sport 5 is a hybrid bike that is suitable for various conditions and activities such as commuting, off-roading, and general recreational use. 

It features a lightweight aluminum frame that is both strong and durable. 

The Trek FX Sport 5 also comes with an adjustable stem and handlebar post, allowing riders to customize the fit of the bicycle to their body type. 

In addition, the components are made of high-quality parts and materials, ensuring great performance in all types of terrain.

2023 Trek FX Sport 5 Review

The Trek FX Sport 5 has become one of the top hybrid bikes on the market this year due its wide range of features and benefits. 

In this review we will explore all aspects of this bike in detail – from its design to its performance – so you can better decide whether or not it’s the right choice for your needs.

The Trek FX Sport 5 is a high-end hybrid bike that is perfect for those who intend to take their cycling experience to the next level. 

With a touring-grade frame and components, this bike is designed for performance, comfort and control. 

In this article, we’ll review some of the features that make the Trek FX Sport 5 stand out from the competition.

2023 Trek FX Sport 5 Review

The Trek FX Sport 5 is a hybrid bike for multi-purpose use. 

With its versatile frame design and components, it is essentials for any road trip or race. 

It combines performance, durability and safety with comfortable riding, no matter where you are going.

The reliable 400 series OCLV Carbon frameset with Bontrager GR1 Expert 40mm tires make the ride both smooth and efficient while keeping your speed up when encountering tough terrain. 

The FX Sport 5 is perfect for bikepacking trips, trail riding adventures and daily commutes around the city.

2023 Trek FX Sport 5 Review

– Reliable 400 series OCLV Carbon frame provides robustness on rough surfaces

– Carbon fork absorbs shock to enhance rideability on offroad trails

– Shimano GRX 1×11 drivetrain ensures smooth shifting and precise gear selection

– Shimano hydraulic disc brakes provide superior stopping power in all conditions

– Tubeless ready Bontrager Paradigm wheels combined with Bontrager GR1 Expert 700x40c tires offer dynamic trail riding experience

– Fender mounts allow fitting mudguards to the bike

– Internal cable routing keeps cables out of sight while adding extra protection on tougher terrain

2023 Trek FX Sport 5 Review

The Trek FX Sport 5 features an 400 series OCLV Carbon with a premium tapered carbon fork that are designed to provide superior rigidity while also keeping weight down. 

The geometry of the bike is comfortable yet aggressive, making it suitable for both short rides around town and extended day trips.

2023 Trek FX Sport 5 Review

The Shimano drivetrain provides precise shifting performance, along with powerful hydraulic disc brakes for safety and control over any terrain. 

The Shimano GRX RX600 crankset features a 40t chainring paired to a Shimano SLX 11-42t, 11 speed cassette offer plenty of gear range for most riders. 

2023 Trek FX Sport 5 Review

Performance

What really sets the Trek FX Sport 5 apart from other hybrid bikes is its outstanding performance in both on and off-road conditions. 

Whether it’s commuting to work or taking on some light trails on the weekend, you can trust this bike to deliver an enjoyable ride every time. 

It’s even more impressive when you consider its price point – you won’t find another bike at this price range with comparable performance.

2023 Trek FX Sport 5 Review

All in all, if you’re looking for a high-end hybrid bike that performs no matter what terrain you plan to tackle – look no further than the Trek FX Sport 5! 

Not only does it offer exceptional quality components but also unmatched durability in a lightweight package. 

Whether you’re hitting up nearby trails or commuting around town – You’ll do so in style with this beautiful machine in tow!

Order online and have it shipped to your local dealer for final assembly!!

Related Posts

gt aggressor review

GT Aggressor Review

Trek Verve 1 Disc Review

Trek Verve 1 Disc Review

Cannondale Treadwell Neo 2 Electric Bike Review

Cannondale Treadwell Neo 2 Electric Bike Review

2023 Trek Marlin 6 Gen 2 Review

2023 Trek Marlin 6 Gen 2 Review

  • Specialized
  • Bridge Bikeworks
  • Brooklyn Bicycle Co.
  • Bunch Bikes
  • CYCLE OF GOOD
  • DALLINGRIDGE
  • Diamondback
  • Eddy Merckx
  • Electric Bike Company
  • EVO Bicycles
  • Fahrradmanufaktur
  • Flyer by Radio Flyer
  • iGO Electric
  • Intense 951
  • JupiterBike
  • Lectric eBikes
  • LeMond Bicycles
  • Lightweight
  • View all brands
  • Pivot Cycles
  • Qualisports
  • Quintana Roo
  • Rad Power Bikes
  • Raleigh Electric
  • Riese & Müller
  • Rocky Mountain
  • Schindelhauer
  • State Bicycle Co.
  • Surface 604
  • Urban Arrow
  • Van Nicholas
  • VELO DE VILLE
  • Vintage Electric
  • Yeti Cycles
  • YT Industries

Endurance mountain bikes

Trek FX Sport 5

  • AUS $ NZD $ USD $ CAD $ GBP £ EUR €

Size / SM, MD, LG, XL

At a glance

Where to buy.

Trek Logo

Specifications

  • Fork Carbon, hidden fender mounts, flat mount disc, 5x100mm thru-skew
  • Hubs Formula CL-52 alloy, 135x5mm QR
  • Wheels Bontrager Paradigm, Tubeless Ready, 32-hole, 21mm width, Presta valve
  • Tires Bontrager GR1 Expert, Hard-Case Lite, wire bead, 60 tpi, 700x40mm
  • Chain Shimano HG601, 11 speed
  • Crank Size: S, Shimano GRX RX600, 40T ring, 170mm length; Size: M, L, XL, Shimano GRX RX600, 40T ring, 175mm length
  • Bottom Bracket Shimano RS500, 86mm, PressFit
  • Rear Derailleur Shimano GRX RX812, long cage, 42T max cog
  • Shifters Shimano RS700, 11 speed
  • Brakeset Shimano hydraulic disc, MT201 lever, UR300 caliper
  • Handlebar Size: S, Bontrager Satellite Plus IsoZone, alloy, 31.8mm, 15mm rise, 600mm width; Size: M, L, XL, Bontrager Satellite Plus IsoZone, alloy, 31.8mm, 15mm rise, 660mm width
  • Saddle Bontrager Montrose Comp, steel rails, 138mm width
  • Seatpost Bontrager Comp, 6061 alloy, 27.2mm, 8mm offset, 330mm length
  • Stem Size: S, M, Bontrager Elite, 31.8mm, Blendr compatible, 7 degree, 100mm length; Size: L, XL, Bontrager Elite, 31.8mm, Blendr compatible, 7 degree, 110mm length
  • Grips Bontrager Satellite IsoZone Plus, lock-on, ergonomic

Q: How much is a 2024 Trek FX Sport 5?

A 2024 Trek FX Sport 5 is typically priced around $2,099 USD when new. Be sure to shop around for the best price, and also look to the used market for a great deal.

Q: Where to buy a 2024 Trek FX Sport 5?

The 2024 Trek FX Sport 5 may be purchased directly from Trek .

Q: What size 2024 Trek FX Sport 5 should I get?

No comments on this bike yet. Why not be the first?

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Want more road bikes in your mailbox?

The latest on road bikes delivered straight to your mailbox.

trek fx 5 reviews

More Bikes in Range View All

Felt FX Advanced GRX 600

Felt FX Advanced GRX 600

Trek FX 1 Disc

Trek FX 1 Disc

Felt FX FRD Ultimate Frame

Felt FX FRD Ultimate Frame

More hybrid bikes view all.

Cannondale Quick Women's 3

Cannondale Quick Women's 3

- Quick As You Like A swift, sporty bike that’s perfect for getting a workout, city cruising or just getting out and feeling good. Highlights- Lightweight aluminum frame and carbon…

Bulls Copperhead EVO 1 Street 27.5

Bulls Copperhead EVO 1 Street 27.5

Norco XFR 1

Norco XFR 1

- The XFR is designed for everyday adventures, and adventuring every day. Fast, comfortable, and confident, the XFR is perfect for commuters who live for shortcuts through the forest, or…

Deals View All

View all deals, recent posts view all.

What is Road Bike Database?

What is Road Bike Database?

Whether you're a seasoned cyclist or just starting out, choosing the right road bike can…

Send Feedback

Have a suggestion? Looking for a bike that's not on Road Bike Database? Or perhaps you've spotted an error?

We'd love to hear from you. Let us know with the form below.

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience possible. Learn more.

About Road Bike Database

Explore, search and compare thousands of the world’s best road bikes here on Road Bike Database.

Compare prices, components, reviews, images and more on current and past road bikes. You can even share reviews, comments and questions on road bikes. View and compare a huge selection of bikes from brands such as Cervélo , BMC , Trek , Specialized and more .

We strive to provide accurate and up-to-date information for road bikes on Road Bike Database. If you’ve spotted any issues, please let us know . We also include helpful tools, such as our frame size calculator, to assist you in choosing the right road bike. Bear in mind that these tools serve as a guide and simply provide a general indication. Refer to information provided by your bike manufacturer for the most applicable information for your bike.

Bikes By Brand

Bikes by year, bikes by riding style.

  • Electric Road
  • folding-bike
  • general-road
  • general-urban
  • long-tail-cargo

Bikes By Wheel Size

Popular bikes.

  • 2021 Trek Loft 7i Men's
  • 2022 Serial 1 RUSH/CTY STEP-THRU
  • 2022 Cannondale Topstone 2
  • 2023 Canyon Pathlite:ON 8 SUV step-through
  • 2023 Bianchi Aria e-Road 105 Di2
  • 2023 VELO DE VILLE AEB 890 10 speed Shimano Cues
  • 2022 Electra Loft 7i EQ Step-Over

Latest Bikes

  • 2024 Riese & Müller Delite4 GT touring
  • 2024 Riese & Müller Delite4 GT rohloff
  • 2024 Riese & Müller Delite4 GT rohloff HS
  • 2024 Riese & Müller Delite4 GT vario HS
  • 2024 Riese & Müller Delite4 GT vario
  • 2024 Riese & Müller Delite4 GT touring HS
  • 2024 Riese & Müller Roadster4 Mixte vario HS

Minitrailbikes.com

Trek FX Sport 5 Review 2023

Trek fx sport 5 review unveiling the ultimate fitness companion.

When it comes to hybrid bikes designed for fitness enthusiasts and urban commuters, the Trek FX Sport 5 stands out as a top contender.

In this comprehensive review, we will delve into the various aspects of the Trek FX Sport 5, from its price and specifications to comparisons with other models and its suitability for gravel riding.

1. What is the price of FX Sport 5?

The Trek FX Sport 5 comes with a price tag that places it squarely in the mid-range category, making it an attractive option for those seeking quality without breaking the bank.

While prices may vary depending on location and additional accessories, you can generally expect to invest around $1,399 to $1,499 in this versatile bike.

2. Is the Trek FX Sport a gravel bike?

The Trek FX Sport 5 is primarily designed as a fitness and commuter bike. While it excels on paved roads, it may not be the best choice for rugged off-road adventures often associated with gravel biking.

If your cycling adventures lean towards gravel and rough terrain, you might want to consider a dedicated gravel bike from Trek’s lineup.

3. What is the difference between Trek FX5 and FX6?

When comparing the Trek FX Sport 5 (FX5) and Trek FX Sport 6 (FX6), it’s essential to note that both are part of the FX Sport series and share some similarities.

However, there are key differences in components and features that set them apart.

The FX6 typically comes with upgraded components such as a lighter frame material, improved drivetrain, and better braking systems.

These enhancements may result in a higher price point for the FX6 compared to the FX5. Riders who prioritize performance and are willing to invest a bit more might find the FX6 to be a better fit, while the FX5 offers an excellent balance of quality and affordability.

4. What is the difference between Trek FX 4 and 5?

The Trek FX Sport 5 often offers upgrades over the FX Sport 4, including a higher-quality drivetrain, better components, and a lighter frame.

These enhancements translate into improved performance, making the FX Sport 5 an appealing choice for those seeking a step up in their cycling experience.

While the FX Sport 4 is a solid option for beginners and casual riders, the FX Sport 5 is designed for those who want a bit more from their hybrid bike.

In conclusion, the Trek FX Sport 5 is a versatile and competitively priced hybrid bike that’s well-suited for fitness-focused riders and urban commuters.

While it may not be a dedicated gravel bike, it offers a reliable and enjoyable riding experience on pavement.

When considering this model, be sure to weigh the differences between it and other FX Sport series bikes, as well as your specific cycling needs and preferences.

Stay tuned for more in-depth insights into the Trek FX Sport 5’s features and performance in our upcoming articles.

Comparison Between the Trek FX Sport 5 Trek FX Sport 6 

Here’s a simplified chart comparing the key features and specifications of the two bikes

Key Differences Explanation 

  • Frame Material: FX5 features an aluminum frame, while FX6 boasts a lightweight aluminum frame for added agility and reduced weight.
  • Drivetrain: FX5 comes with a Shimano Deore 1×11 drivetrain, while FX6 offers an upgraded Shimano Deore 1×12 drivetrain for a wider gear range.
  • Fork: Both models come with carbon forks, providing improved vibration damping and responsiveness.
  • Weight: FX6 is lighter, weighing approximately 9.47kg, making it a more agile and responsive option.
  • Price: FX6 is priced higher than FX5, with a range of $2799, reflecting the enhanced components and performance.
  • Gearing Range: FX6 offers a broader gearing range with a 10-51T cassette, providing more versatility for various terrains.
  • Pedals: Neither model includes pedals, allowing riders to choose and install their preferred pedal type.

These differences highlight that while both the Trek FX Sport 5 (FX5) and Trek FX Sport 6 (FX6) belong to the same series and share several features, the FX6 offers a more advanced drivetrain, lighter frame, and slightly broader gearing range. Depending on your budget and cycling preferences, either model could be a great choice for fitness and commuting.

Comparison Between Trek FX Sport 4 and Trek FX Sport 5

Certainly, here’s a simplified chart comparing the key features and specifications of the Trek FX Sport 4 and Trek FX Sport 5 models:

Key Differences

  • Frame Material: Both models feature aluminum frames, offering durability and lightness.
  • Drivetrain: FX Sport 4 has a Shimano Acera 3×8 drivetrain, providing 24 speeds with a triple front chainring. FX Sport 5 features a Shimano Deore 1×11 drivetrain, offering a simpler 11-speed setup with a single front chainring.
  • Brakes: Both models come equipped with hydraulic disc brakes, delivering reliable stopping power in various conditions.
  • Fork: FX Sport 4 features an aluminum alloy fork, while FX Sport 5 boasts a carbon fork, which provides improved vibration damping and reduced weight.
  • Weight: FX Sport 5 is slightly lighter, with an approximate weight of 10.35 kg compared to FX Sport 4’s 10.74 kg.
  • Price: FX Sport 5 is priced higher, ranging from $2099, reflecting the upgraded components and features compared to the FX Sport 4, which ranges from $1799.
  • Gearing Range: FX Sport 4 offers a 3×8 (24-speed) drivetrain with a wider gear range, suitable for a variety of terrains. FX Sport 5, on the other hand, offers a 1×11 (11-speed) drivetrain, which simplifies gear shifting and maintenance.

These differences highlight that the Trek FX Sport 5 (FX5) offers an upgraded drivetrain, lighter frame with a carbon fork, and a simplified 1×11 gearing system compared to the Trek FX Sport 4 (FX4), which features a 3×8 drivetrain and an aluminum alloy fork.

Depending on your preferences and budget, either model can be a suitable choice for fitness and commuting.

Features And Specifications 

Here are the features and specifications of the Trek FX Sport 5.

1. Ride-Ready Gear

The Trek FX Sport 5 comes equipped with a high-quality Shimano Deore 1×11 drivetrain, ensuring a wide range of gears suitable for various terrains.

This allows you to tackle hills and flats with ease while maintaining efficient pedaling.

2. FX Carbon Fork

The bike features an FX carbon fork, which not only reduces overall weight but also enhances front-end responsiveness and provides improved vibration damping for a smoother ride.

3. Hydraulic Disc Brakes

Hydraulic disc brakes on the Trek FX Sport 5 offer consistent and powerful stopping performance in all weather conditions, ensuring your safety while riding.

4. IsoZone Handlebars and Grips

IsoZone handlebars and grips provide extra comfort by absorbing road vibrations, reducing hand fatigue during long rides.

5. Duotrap and Compatible

The bike is Duotrap S compatible, allowing you to seamlessly integrate a wireless speed and cadence sensor for precise tracking of your performance metrics.

6. Slack Cable Integration

The Trek FX Sport 5 incorporates internal cable routing, giving the bike a clean and sleek appearance while protecting the cables from dirt and debris.

7. Blender Stem

The Blender stem on this model provides integrated mounts for attaching accessories like lights, a phone holder, or a bike computer, enhancing your cycling experience.

8. Wide Grippy Tires

The wide tires on the Trek FX Sport 5 offer excellent traction and stability, ensuring a confident and comfortable ride on a variety of road surfaces.

9. Tubeless Ready Rim

The tubeless-ready rims give you the option to switch to tubeless tires, reducing the risk of flats and improving rolling efficiency.

10. Hidden Rack and Fender Mounts

The bike features hidden mounts for racks and fenders, making it versatile for commuting and long-distance rides while allowing you to easily attach accessories for cargo or protection from the elements.

11. Frame Bag Mounts

Frame bag mounts provide additional storage options, allowing you to carry essentials and gear securely during your rides.

These features and specifications collectively make the Trek FX Sport 5 a well-rounded and versatile hybrid bike suitable for fitness enthusiasts and urban commuters.

Whether you’re looking for comfort, performance, or utility, this bike is designed to meet a variety of cycling needs.

Trek Fx Sport Review

Trek FX Sport 6 Review 2023

It effectively encourages readers to visit the official Trek Bicycles website for more information and purchasing options while emphasizing the benefits of exploring the Trek FX Sport 5. It’s clear and persuasive.

Leave a Comment Cancel Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment.

trek fx 5 reviews

Trek FX 4 vs FX 5 vs FX 6: Which One Is Best For You?

The FX Series of Bicycles hosts a variety of models from the FX 1 to the FX Sport 6. In this article, we are going to pit FX Sport 4, FX Sport 5, and FX Sport 6 against each other to help you determine the best model for your wants and needs. The FX series of bicycles offer a relaxed hybrid geometry delivering the best of both worlds meaning high speed and maneuverability coupled with increased comfort and performance. This upright and relaxed geometry makes it easy to see the world around you while quickly getting you to your destination!

The FX Sport 4 is a lightweight carbon fiber hybrid bike for those riders looking for the speed of a road bike but the geometry and comfort of a flat handlebar. The FX Sport 5 is upgraded with tubeless-ready rims, hydraulic disc brakes that stop on a dime, and a higher-quality drivetrain. The FX Sport 6 serves up all the performance features of a high-end road bike, improving upon both the FX 4 and FX 5 while retaining the comfort and control of a flat handlebar all for under $2600.

If you already own an FX and love it or are looking to get into the FX lineup but with a little more oomph then this is the best place to start! The FX 4 provides the same comfortable geometry as the FX 1, 2, and 3 but on a much higher quality frame built from 400 series OCLV carbon.

This carbon frame not only reduces the weight but also creates more compliance reducing road vibration and improving ride quality.

trek fx 5 reviews

Equipped with Promax hydraulic disc brakes for confidence-inspiring stopping power and a reliable yet simple 1 x 10 drivetrain for effortless gear selection.

The FX Sport 4 takes everything you love about the FX series but just makes it better!

The FX 4 provides a comfortable geometry on a high-quality carbon frame and quality components. It's a serious step-up in ride quality in the FX line-up.

Trek FX Sport 4

FX Sport 4 highlights at a glance

  • Carbon Fork – carbon is the go-to for veteran road riders. Carbon also helps to soften the bumps more than other materials making the ride that much nicer.
  • 1X10 Shimano Deore Drivetrain – 1 bys make for simplified shifting while still providing the gear ratio needed.
  • Promax Hydraulic Disc Brakes – providing stopping power in all weather conditions.
  • 700X40c Bontrager GR1 Hard-Case Lite Tires –  these go everywhere gravel grinders are top-notch and can tackle asphalt and dirt with ease! They also provide the best in flat protection.

Who is the FX 4 for?

The FX Sport 4 is the perfect bike for a commuter seeking the speed and nimbleness of a lightweight road bike but with the control and comfort of a flat-bar bike.

trek fx 5 reviews

The FX 4 blends the best of both worlds adeptly while still providing an affordable price for many. The 1-by drivetrain makes shifting simple while still providing the gear range for a high-performance bike.

Whether it’s leading the pack, a solo workout, hauling the kids to school, or grabbing some groceries on your commute the FX 4 has got you covered!

The FX Sport 5 takes everything that makes the FX 4 great and improves on just about every aspect.

Using the same 400 series OCLV carbon frame as the FX 4 the FX 5 adds some upgrades to the components reducing weight and improving ride quality across the board. The FX 5 sports a Shimano RS700 1X11 drivetrain which is an improvement over the Deore on the FX4. It also has Shimano Hydraulic Disc Brakes which are a significant upgrade over the Promax found on the FX 4.

Income School

Many of the components have been swapped for lighter yet stronger ones making for a very lightweight bike at just a smidge over 22 pounds! 

This bike has an amazing lightweight carbon frame, high-quality components, and a very comfortable geometry for long rides. It's a great bike for those who want to ride regularly on a reliable bike.

Trek FX Sport 5

FX Sport 5 Highlights

  • 1X11 Shimano RS700 Drivetrain – 1 bys make for simplified shifting while still providing the gear ratio needed. The 11-speed is an upgrade from the 10-speed!
  • Shimano Hydraulic Disc Brakes – upgraded disc brakes made by what many consider the best in the biz!

Who is the FX 5 for?

If you have a bit more cash to spend and want something just a tad better than the FX 4, then the FX 5 might just be what you are looking for. With an awesome frame shared by both but with a full complement of upgraded parts, you can be sure you are getting every bang for your buck.

Best of all the FX Sport 5 slides in just under $2000 making it an awesome bike for those on a budget but still seeking a high-performance machine! The only thing that beats the FX Sport 5 is, of course, the FX Sport 6!

In this side-by-side comparison, it is easy to say who the clear winner is, and that hands down are the FX Sport 6. Taking all of the awesome features of the FX 4 and FX 5 and improving upon them quite a bit.

The FX Sport 6 is by far the lightest and fastest FX in the entire lineup. It provides every high-performing characteristic of a state-of-the-art road bike but retains the comfort and control of a flat handlebar bike. This means that you will get to your destination with speed and finesse while also maintaining an upright and relaxed stance.

The FX 6 has the best-in-class features such as a lightweight carbon frame, tubeless-ready carbon rims, 1X11 Shimano GRX drivetrain, Shimano MT201 hydraulic disc brakes, and an impressive 20.88lb weight!

This bike is equipped with best-in-class components. It's the top-of-the-line bike in the FX series. It's a hybrid bike built to be ridden on paved roads as well as gravel.

Trek FX Sport 6

FX Sport 6 Highlights

  • 700X40c Bontrager GR1 Team Issue Tires – these gravel grinders are the same spec as the ones issued to the world-class Trek racing teams. They can tackle asphalt and dirt with ease all while being as light and strong as possible.
  • Lightest and fastest model in class!

Who is the FX 6 for?

The FX Sport 6 is for the serious bicycle! It’s a high-performing road bike but with the comfort of a hybrid bike. The FX 6 combines the best from both categories and gives you a bike with the high performance of a carbon road bike with the comfort of a city commuter.

This is bike is not for you if you are cash-strapped or if you can just barely afford to buy it and you want to use it as a commuter. While it’s a fantastic bike, leaving it locked up anywhere outside is probably a bad decision.

If you’re looking to pick up cycling as a hobby or you have a long commute where you’re looking for more than just the essentials, then the FX Series of bikes is a fan favorite for commuters and hobby cyclists of all skill levels and walks of life.

The truth is no matter which FX you decide to go with you will have one of the most loved commuters in your stable. Whether it be the FX 1, 2, 3 4, 5, or 6 you can be sure that you have one of the most robust and reliable commuters in the industry.

If you love the FX series but don’t quite have the budget for the FX Sport 4, then check out my comparison of the FX 1, 2 and 3 in this article .

However, if you are looking for the best, and money is no issue, then the FX Sport 6 cannot be beaten!

Happy Pedaling!

Sam Benkoczy

Hi, I'm Sam. I own and maintain 6 e-bikes, 15 regular bikes (road bikes, folding bikes, hybrid bikes, city bikes among others). I learned about bikes from my local bike mechanic as well as from bike maintenance courses. I love being out there in the saddle, and using my bike as a practical means of transportation. You can also find me on my YouTube channel at youtube.com/bikecommuterhero Say hi to me at [email protected].

Recent Posts

HeyBike Sola Hands-on Review

I’m not going to beat around the bush. The Heybike Sola is SHOCKINGLY cheap. This is an electric commuter bike that is currently on sale for less than the price of most regular, non-electric...

How to Fix Bike Noises

That little noise your bike is making isn’t just an annoyance. If you don’t fix the problem, it might lead to expensive damage to your bike – or a crash. So what can you do? The good news is...

trek fx 5 reviews

  • Rider Notes

2023 Trek FX Sport 5

trek fx 5 reviews

A 700c carbon frame fitness bike with upper mid-range components and hydraulic disc brakes.

For This Bike

View more similar bikes →

Based on frame geometry and build specs.

A bike with lower gearing will be easier to ride up steep hills, while a higher top end means it will pedal faster down hills.

Similar Bikes

(descending)

Add custom gearing

Based on build material and quality level of the frame, fork, wheelset, groupset, suspension system, and more.

5'1" – 5'6"

5'4" – 5'10"

5'8" – 6'2"

6'0" – 6'6"

Do you have this bike? Help other riders make a decision about which size will work for them by sharing your own size and fit notes. Report your fit

Cycling News

Sep 2022 · Benjamin Page

The Trek FX 2 Disc is a versatile all-rounder with surprising levels of comfort and stability

The frame has a great balance between responsiveness and comfort

Equipped for night riding, bikepacking or commuting

Can carry a decent amount of weight

Stable ride for long distances

Would need a drivetrain upgrade to become a serious fitness bike

On the heavy side for a rigid frame

Read Review

99 Spokes on YouTube

Last updated June 27 Not listed for 213 days

Best fitness bikes 2024: flat handlebar machines to smash your workout goals

We round up the best fitness bikes with flat bars for going fast and getting fit if you're looking to reap the many health benefits cycling has to offer

  • Sign up to our newsletter Newsletter

best fitness bikes

The best fitness bikes are a perfect way to stay healthy while escaping the stresses of everyday life. Designed to help you on your way to demolish any workout targets, fitness bikes are sporty and fast rides.

We have rounded up the best fitness bikes for leisure cyclists and fitness enthusiasts alike in our guide below, but first...

What makes the best fitness bikes?

You can trust Cycling Weekly. Our team of experts put in hard miles testing cycling tech and will always share honest, unbiased advice to help you choose. Find out more about how we test.

Drop handlebars are not a prerequisite for speed on the road. Flat handlebars can boost your confidence to push deeper and go faster as the slightly more upright riding position and wider grips on the bars feels more secure and stable.

Looking for a drop bar model? Check out our guide to the best performance road bikes reviewed here or the best road bikes under £2000 / $2500 here .

Fitness bikes are essentially performance oriented hybrids . Powerful hydraulic disc brakes are often fitted so with a slight clench of your fingers the bike grinds to a rapid halt, even in wet conditions. Fast speeds, therefore, are no concern.

Lightweight builds result in snappy acceleration and the inclusion of comfort oriented contact points means you can focus on your legs screaming at you and not your hands or your nether regions.

Not only can these bikes be perfect workout machines, they fit right in with commuting needs . With mounts for mudguards and a pannier rack in worse riding conditions dirt on the road won't be flicked up at you and it's possible to carry extra luggage on the bike instead of in a backpack , which can strain your shoulders and back.

Fitness bikes are an excellent do it all bike. They're perfect for riders who only have space or money for one bike, and want one that can be used for both short expeditions to the shops/work and for sweating it out for fitness gains.

If a fitness bike ticks most of your boxes but speed isn't a priority, it may be worth looking at the other end of the hybrid scale at comfort bikes . The geometry and contact points on these bikes are optimised for cyclists who are beginners, less flexible or have niggling or persistent injuries.

Our pick of the best fitness bikes

Giant's FastRoad features Shimano's ever-reliable 105 groupset

1. Giant FastRoad SL 1

Specifications, reasons to buy.

The FastRoad from Giant is agile with its lightweight aluminium frame and carbon fork, while providing confidence and control with a flat handlebar setup.

Any rough roads will be smoothed out by Giant's D-Fuse seatpost which absorbs the road vibrations and the high volume 32mm wide tires – these tubeless ready, puncture protect tires will also provide reassuring grip and fewer flats so you can keep pedalling without annoying interruptions.

Equipped with hydraulic disc brakes and a Shimano 105 gearing groupset, these are quality components that will allow you to push to your limits with the confidence that you can stop when you need to and switch gear effortlessly mid effort.

With its easy to use pannier and mudguard (fenders) mounting system, this bike is also ideal for commuting and weekend adventures in addition to fitness riding.

Trek's FX fitness bike uses a single chainring for straightforward shifting

2. Trek FX 3 Disc

Demolish your fitness goals with this bike from Trek that is built for performance and versatility. Featuring a lightweight alloy frame and carbon fork it has a responsive ride feel and hills can be conquered at speed.

For fast rolling speed on the tarmac while ensuring sufficient grip in poor conditions, Bontrager H2 Comp tires have been fitted. For controlled, powerful stopping power its hydraulic disc brakes will have you covered.

Its single chainring Shimao groupset provides loads of range, reliable shifting and keeps this otherwise very well speced bike at a reasonable price. Perfect for riders looking for road bike speed with hybrid bike practicality and stability.

The Sirrus X benfits from Specialized's FutureShock front suspension system

3. Specialized Sirrus X 5.0

Comfortable over the longer rides and agile for when you want to give it your all, the Specialized Sirrus X is the perfect option for riding more and pushing your limits.

The carbon frame and fork Sirrus X is fitted with wide, confidence-inspiring 38mm tyres and the geometry has a slightly more upright riding position for a stable ride feel. In addition, the brand's Future Shock technology in the fork will dampen the harsh feel of any rough surfaces or potholes.

Internal cable routing keeps this ride looking smart and clean, while a single chainring drivetrain ensures easy, swift shifting.

The Sirrus has recently been redesigned and we'll be reviewing the updated bike shortly.

The Roadlite 6 is designed for comfort and speed

4. Canyon Roadlite 6

Delivering an impressive level of performance for the price, Canyon 's Roadlite weighs only 9.9kg (21.8lbs) thanks to its high grade aluminium frame and compliant carbon fork.

Extremely effective hydraulic disc brakes are integrated seamlessly into the frame and Canyon has fitted this bike with comfort focussed contact points, including Ergon GA3 grips and a Canyon Sport saddle.

The bike comes complete with aerodynamic wheels wrapped in reliable Schwalbe G-One Speed tires. At 30mm wide these are narrower than other fitness bike offerings but will still provide a confident ride and excel at speed.

The Speedster is 'year-round' ready thanks to fender mounts and hydraulic disc brakes

5. Merida Speeder 900

Sporty yet comfortable geometry features on the lightweight triple butted and hydroformed aluminium frame in the Speeder range.

To help keep your speed in check hydraulic disc brakes are fitted and Merida 's fitness offering is equipped with a higher end Shimano groupset than others on this list, with its Ultegra 2 x 11 drivetrain.

It can also accommodate up to 37mm wide tires, or 32mm if you fit fenders, both of which will provide a stable feeling ride that will give you confidence to push higher speeds.

With an all-carbon frameset the Metrix 10 is a lightweight option 

6. Scott Metrix 10

Lightly dusted with gold glitter, this fast machine from Scott has a lightweight carbon frame paired with sporty features.

The 2x11 Shimano 105 groupset delivers high enough gears for high speed cycling, while leaving enough in reserve to get you up the steeper hills. With hydraulic disc brakes there is ample stopping power and lower maintenance over cable actuated alternatives.

Providing a balance between aerodynamics and stable handling, the 580mm wide handlebars from in-house brand Syncros are also designed with comfort in mind. Adding further vibration dampening properties is the 27.2mm seatpost, offering greater compliance over those with wider diameters.

The SL Road Race features mounts for fenders and a rear rack

7. Cube SL Road Race

Sleek and speedy sums up Cube 's stylish fitness bike offering, with a double butted aluminium frame and full carbon fork, and with aero rim wheels completing the look.

Powerful Tektro hydraulic disc brakes come as standard and Shimano GRX 2x11 gearing will give you reliable shifting with plenty of gear range.

Schwalbe G-One Allround tyres provide excellent grip even in poor conditions and there are mounting points for fenders and a rack if you want to convert this bike into a winter commuter warrior.

Marin's Fairfax fitness bike delivers a wide gear range making it suitable for diverse terrain

8. Marin Fairfax 3

The Fairfax 3 is Marin's top-tier flat-bar fitness bike. It features a 6061 aluminum frame with a full carbon fork, helping to keep the weight down and the road chatter at bay. Flat-mount disc brakes and thru-axles ensure it's right up to date.

The 2x9 groupset is a blend of Shimano, Microshift and a Marin-branded chainset. The gear range is wide, with a better than 1:1 low gear thanks to a 48/32t x 11-34t combination.

The bike comes with 700 x 32mm tires, while the frame offers rack and fender mounts, making this fitness bike a more than capable commuter too.

Get The Leadout Newsletter

The latest race content, interviews, features, reviews and expert buying guides, direct to your inbox!

I’ve been hooked on bikes ever since the age of 12 and my first lap of the Hillingdon Cycle Circuit in the bright yellow kit of the Hillingdon Slipstreamers. For a time, my cycling life centred around racing road and track. 

But that’s since broadened to include multiday two-wheeled, one-sleeping-bag adventures over whatever terrain I happen to meet - with a two-week bikepacking trip from Budapest into the mountains of Slovakia being just the latest.

I still enjoy lining up on a start line, though, racing the British Gravel Championships and finding myself on the podium at the enduro-style gravel event, Gritfest in 2022.

Height: 177cm

Weight: 60–63kg

The generational debate is always easy to solve: the riders of our youth are always better than the riders of today...

By Michael Hutchinson Published 28 January 24

The ride that left onlookers astonished and no one else has got close to since

By James Shrubsall Published 27 January 24

Useful links

  • Tour de France
  • Giro d'Italia
  • Vuelta a España

Buyer's Guides

  • Best road bikes
  • Best gravel bikes
  • Best smart turbo trainers
  • Best cycling computers
  • Editor's Choice
  • Bike Reviews
  • Component Reviews
  • Clothing Reviews
  • Contact Future's experts
  • Terms and conditions
  • Privacy policy
  • Cookies policy

Cycling Weekly is part of Future plc, an international media group and leading digital publisher. Visit our corporate site . © Future Publishing Limited Quay House, The Ambury, Bath BA1 1UA. All rights reserved. England and Wales company registration number 2008885.

trek fx 5 reviews

Best bike select

Is Trek FX Sport 5 A Good Hybrid Bike? [Trek FX Sport 5 Review]

Table of Contents

TREK FX SPORT 5

  • Price: $2,099.99
  • Frame: Carbon Fiber
  • Gear: 1 x 11
  • Tires: 700c x 40c

What we like about it: The carbon-braced frame texture combined with the flat handlebar construction makes for a comfortable ride. The 1x drivetrain has a wide range of power settings for a fast ride on long road trips.

What we don’t like about it: The pedals with straps are a little out of date.

Rating: (4.6/5)

TREK FX SPORT 5

The latest addition to the Trek FX line, the Trek FX Sport 5 is a hybrid bike built specifically for fitness riders. High specs, light weight, and low maintenance allow riders ready for longer rides to go farther.

Like a traditional hybrid bike, it’s not going to make commuters like it if the $2,099 price tag ends there.

If you’re looking for an exercise bike worth investing in, then the Trek FX Sport 5 is a great value.

To that end, our detailed review includes gravel and commuter riding, key features, components and specs, as well as other versions in the range. To see how it stacks up, see our article on the best mountain bikes.

Related Reading: HOW GOOD IS THE TREK FX 3 DISC ROAD BIKE? – TREK FX 3 REVIEW Trek FX Sport 6 Review-How Convincing Is The High-End Version Of The Trek FX Sport 6?

Gravel Road Test

TREK FX SPORT 5 NAVY CARBON SMOKE

As we all know, the gravel road is a necessary level that every fitness person is eager to challenge. By controlling the collision between the body and the gravel, a balance exercise can be achieved. However, roads full of gravel are bound to be extremely demanding on the body.

We spent two months testing the Trek FX sport 5 on gravel and the results were generally satisfactory. There is a 3km gravel double-track trail on my way to the park and I’ve spent over 600km on it so far. It is no exaggeration to say that I still remember the damage that those thorny roads brought me. To my satisfaction, the Trek FX sport 5 lived up to my expectations.

The 42c tires are really ready for this kind of gravel-laden road. The larger tires make it extremely stable and safe when going downhill. Gravel bumps can have a destabilizing effect on the ride, but the lightweight, full-carbon forks of the fork range greatly reduce the impact of gravel and bodywork.

The isozone handlebars are also able to reduce road bumps and hum, allowing me to pass this gravel road smoothly.

At the same time, I can feel that when it rains, trouble may come. The overly wide tires didn’t have enough room for the fenders, leaving me covered in wet mud. I recently considered changing to 40mm tires.

Of course, as a fitness bike, it brings me far more surprises than this.

I do some enduro races from time to time to increase my aerobic intensity. To increase the difficulty of the ride, I also sometimes start my training with a sandbag of about 5kg on my back. On the way, there will also be some sections where bicycles cannot pass, and then you have to pick up the bicycle. Obviously, the lighter weight of the carbon fiber Trek FX sport 5 allowed me to get through these obstacles quickly.

Not only that, but unlike other bikes, the trek FX sport 5 is also equipped with compatible DuoTraps (requires purchase). It is very helpful for me to track my fitness progress regularly through the route record on my phone or calculator.

Commuter Ride

TREK FX SPORT 5 RED CARBON SMOKE

I have to admit, I’m the type of rider who likes to ride long distances. In normal times, I would also ride my bicycle on the road with many people coming and going. Of course, I will occasionally head towards the mountains and forests, crossing various rugged terrains.

On the trail leading to the park in Yellowstone, there will be a large section of smooth road, which is a comfortable way to relax on the weekend leisure time. I think if you go for the Trek FX sport 5 for smooth surfaces like this, you might be honestly overkill. I also take that into consideration when thinking about the bike. Surprisingly, the Trek FX sport 5 didn’t slack off, even on a smooth, technically difficult road.

Adjust the seat tube length to the right, and with the soft seat cushion, you can sit on it for a long time without discomfort. I used the Trek FX sport 5 once and rode 300km in three days. I didn’t feel any discomfort while resting.

When I travel, I encounter all kinds of terrain, and one of the most headaches for me is the muddy road, and I always fall accidentally. Luckily the Trek FX sport 5 didn’t have this problem, I think it might be the hydraulic disc brakes that gave me enough stability on muddy roads. It keeps me calm enough even in an emergency.

At the same time, during the ride, I had to unavoidably have a construction section of the road, and the potholes made me have to change gears and drive at a slow speed. Unlike other road bikes that twist and shift, the Trek FX sport 5 uses a single, simple shifter that allows you to quickly change gears with the flick of your left index finger. At the same time, the Bontrager Satellite Plus IsoZone, the alloy handlebar with rubber leather cover can greatly reduce the impact of bumpy roads, and various details make me feel the humanization of the Trek FX sport 5 design.

Main Feature

 Trek FX sport 5 frame

At the same time, during the ride, I had to unavoidably have a construction section of the road, and the potholes made me have to change gears and drive at a slow speed.

Unlike other road bikes that twist and shift, the Trek FX sport 5 uses a single, simple shifter that allows you to quickly change gears with the flick of your left index finger.

At the same time, the Bontrager Satellite Plus IsoZone, the alloy handlebar with rubber leather cover can greatly reduce the impact of bumpy roads, and various details make me feel the humanization of the Trek FX sport 5 design.

Geometry (head tube, seat tube)

The geometry of the Trek FX sport 5 pretty much defines its performance and ride feel. And Trek Fx sport5 seems to be happy to bring this concept to the masses.

The 70.5 head angle is quite acceptable, not the most extreme product in the FX sport line. The looser head tube angle is more in line with the market’s choice, and it can be steered without a large steering operation. So that’s why the Trek FX sport 5 can ride on rougher terrain.

At the same time, the seat tube angle of 74.5 is relatively steep, and the seat tube angle also determines the balanced distribution of the rider’s weight between the front and rear wheels, that is, the center of gravity. So you can also be in a comfortable position when climbing.

Components and Specifications

Shimano grx/slx drivetrain.

Shimano GRX/SLX Drivetrain

The drivetrain from model to model has an impact on your ride for all to see. The 1xShimano GRX/SLX on the Trek FX sport 5 uses a lightweight and fast carbon fiber structure, which allows us to get a faster riding experience with longer mileage.

Not only that, but unlike the rotary shifting on other bikes, the Trek FX sport 5 is equipped with a simpler and more simple shifter function to select the appropriate gear according to the needs of different terrains. All you need to do is flick your index finger, and shifting is lighter and more intuitive. In the actual experience, I felt a very big surprise.

Finally, I believe you should be very familiar with the KMC brand. Many high-end bicycles are equipped with KMC brand chains. Among them, KMC*10 is highly praised for its stable performance, high quality, and high-cost performance. The Trek FX sport 5 uses this as its own chain so you won’t get stuck in the chain while riding.

OCLV Carbon Fiber Fork

OCLV Carbon Fiber Fork

In my opinion, the oclv carbon fork is the best fork material on the market. In addition to reducing weight, the most commendable point of carbon fiber is its own extreme plasticity.

Different shapes will show different strengths, and the Trek FX sport 5 inevitably has to deal with various road types. On those rough roads, the carbon fiber front fork can absorb more kinetic energy for us, so as to eliminate the fatigue caused by travel. Not only the Trek FX sport 5, but the choice of future bikes, I will also consider whether it is carbon fiber or not.

Also on a gravel-filled uphill, when I faced obstacles with larger rocks, I had to lift the front body to get me through. Compared to aluminum bike forks, the oclv carbon fiber fork significantly reduces the effort I have to spend, which is a clear feeling. At the same time, the carbon fiber front fork has better compressibility when encountering the same bumpy journey, which can effectively alleviate the impact of the body and ground vibrations on me.

Brakes – Shimano Hydraulic Discs

Brakes - Shimano Hydraulic Discs

I have to admit that Shimano hydraulic discs are the most numerous of all the bikes I have ridden, and it seems that this is already a trend in the bicycle industry.

The one thing I’m most sure of is that hydraulic disc brakes are more responsive than mechanical brakes. When I’m in an emergency while riding, I can go from fast-moving to a standstill in no time, and that happens in a matter of seconds. But mechanical braking will take longer, knowing that a few seconds is very important for safe braking.

Secondly, the hydraulic disc has a lighter volume. Increase the performance and sensitivity of the car without increasing the weight of the body. I also hope that the car I control can fully understand my commands, and can stop quickly and effortlessly when I want it to stop. Clearly the Shimano hydraulic disc was more than what I expected.

Bontrager GR1 Expert Tires

Bontrager GR1 Expert Tires

As an exercise bike, the quality of tires is one of the most critical factors for customers to choose. So Trek FX sport 5 also chose the Bontrager GR1 Expert for this consideration.

Compared to other normal hybrid tires, it has a wider and heavier size (40c). This also means that he has a more stable grip on the road, which is also reflected in my daily fitness.

At the same time, the Trek FX Sport 5’s tires have a quick-release function, so you can choose the right tire according to your riding experience. 42c is the largest compatible tire size for the Trek FX sport 5. Of course, you can also choose to install the original tires (40c) to support the installation of hidden fender brackets to reduce the damage to your clothes due to the splash of water on the roadside in rainy days.

Trek FX Sport 5 Previous Versions

2020 Trek FX Sport 5

We also measured another version of the Trek FX sport – the Trek FX sport5 . As mentioned above, the Trek FX sport5 , has the same body structure as the Trek FX sport5 and is also made of carbon fiber. However, compared to the latest version, its suspension uses rigid materials, making it lacking in shock absorption. But correspondingly, its price is more favorable, only 1979 US dollars. The high price/performance ratio will make it stand out among the same type of vehicles.

If you are not so keen on the carbon fiber body in full form, then Trek FX sport5 , will be a good choice for you. All in all, while you can pay attention to Trek FX sport4 and Trek FX sport6, I believe that there is always a model in the Trek series that suits your fitness needs.

What do we like about it?

  • An excellent exercise bike that can adapt to different sections of riding.
  • The body structure of oclv carbon fiber structure makes it lighter and faster.
  • The 40c tire configuration has more grip.
  • Shimano hydraulic discs provide more responsive braking and easier maintenance.
  • Compatible with DuoTraps to track fitness and provide real-time feedback.

What do we not like about it?

  • Slightly dated strapped pedals.
  • Going for big tires means ditching the hidden fender mounts.

Trek FX Sport 5 Specs

Drivetrain expand_less

Trek FX Sport 4 vs Trek FX Sport 5

2021 Trek FX Sport 4

In terms of body structure, Trek FX Sport 4 also uses carbon fiber materials to make the body lighter. When encountering a road that the bicycle cannot pass through, the rider can lift it hard.

But compared to the Trek FX Sport 5, the TrekFX Sport 4 uses a rigid suspension. This results in the TrekFX Sport 4 being slightly insufficient in terms of shock absorption on the same gravel road, and does not support longer-range travel.

Again, when it comes to price, the Trek FX Sport 4 is a definite plus, of course at the expense of its own speed. If your goal is just light travel near your home and price is a factor, then the Trek FX Sport 4 is for you. And if you’re looking to ride more kilometers, the Trek FX Sport 5 might be your best bet.

Learn more : Is Trek Dual Sport 2 Gen 4 A Good E-bike? [Trek Dual Sport 2 Gen 4 Reviews]

Cannondale Bad Boy 1 vs Trek FX Sport 5

Cannondale bad boy 1

Unlike the Trek FX Sport 5, the Cannondale Bad Boy 1 still uses aluminum as the body support, so it has a heavier volume and is more affordable. Of course, if you are looking for a lighter and smaller bike, carbon fiber is still your first choice.

Of course, the Cannondale Bad Boy 1 is a city bike, it’s more to adapt to the city’s smooth roads. For those gravel roads that fitness enthusiasts want to challenge, maybe it’s not done very well.

If you’re looking for something a little different on your commute, the Cannondale Bad Boy 1 is worth checking out.

Learn More: Is Cannondale Bad Boy 1 Worth Buying? [Cannondale Bad Boy Series Review]

2019 Liv Thrive CoMax 1 Disc vs  Trek FX Sport 5

2019 Liv Thrive CoMax 1 Disc

The 2019 Liv Thrive CoMax 1 Discs is a stylish hybrid bike while still having it all.

The same carbon fiber construction makes it lighter while increasing its own performance. But that’s only for hybrids, because the 2019 Liv Thrive CoMax 1 Discs is significantly heavier than the Trek FX Sport 5 because of the battery, so that also means you have to lift it up quite a bit.

At the same time, as an electric bicycle, it has two sets of transmission systems, so that you can save a lot of energy when riding. But at the same time, like a normal electric car, it still needs to be charged every day, if you have a long trip.

As equipped with high-end components and hydraulic disc brakes, the price is relatively high throughout.

Learn more : Is Liv Thrive 2 A Good Choice? – [Liv Thrive 2 Review]

Trek FX +2 Stagger vs Trek FX Sport 5

2023 Trek FX +2 Stagger

The Trek FX+ 2 Stagger is a hybrid bike, with premium parts and hydraulic disc-style components making it extremely capable.

At the same time, it is equipped with large 50c tires which make it very grippy and extremely stable even on steep downhills.

But unlike the Trek FX Sport 5, Alpha Gold aluminum was chosen for its construction. Therefore, it is not as tough as carbon fiber, and it also means that you will experience relatively large vibrations during the ride.

Trek FX+ 2 Review – Is An All-Around Electric Bike?

Related Posts

trek fx 5 reviews

[Orbea URRUN 10 20mph Review] – Best Used By People Who Enjoy Riding To Get AFeel For The Mountains!

[schwinn admiral hybrid bicycle review] -is schwinn admiral hybrid bicycle worth buying?.

trek fx 5 reviews

[Specialized Turbo Como 5.0 Review] – Good Choice?

Best Mountain Bike Saddles -SDG Bel Air V3.0 Lux-Alloy

15 of The Best Mountain Bike Saddles You Can Buy

trek fx 5 reviews

20 INCH FOLDING BIKE BTWIN 120 Review-Fold up and put in “pocket”

2023 Top 10 Best Fun Kids Bike Bells

2023 Top 10 Best Fun Kids Bike Bells – Will This Bring Joy To Your Child’s Ride?

2023 Santa Cruz NOMAD X01

27.5 vs 29er Mountain Bikes – The Battle Of The Century

trek fx 5 reviews

Best 20 inch Bikes For 6-13 Years Old Kids Bikes (With Gears)

TRANZX KITSUMA 27.2 EXTERNAL SEATPOST

Best 27.2 Dropper Post

30.9 dropper - Thomson Elite Covert

Best 30.9 Dropper Post In

31.6 dropper Bontrager-Line-Elite-31.6-Dropper-Seatpost-

Best 31.6 Dropper Post

EThirteen Base 35_

Best Mountain Bike Stems-Better Travel Through The Mountains And Forests

Leave a comment cancel reply.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

trek fx 5 reviews

trek fx 5 reviews

  • ALL (67 Forums)
  • WHEELS & TIRES
  • SPECIALIZED
  • CYCLOCROSS BIKES
  • TIRES & WHEELS

Trek 7.5 FX Hybrid Bike

trek fx 5 reviews

  • USER REVIEWS

As an in town commuter for Sacramento Fencing Pros , this is quite simply the best bike I've ever bought. It's fast,agile, and extremely reliable mechanically. As for those that say the brakes are finicky, I can't say that I've seen that on mine, even with me putting over 3000 miles on mine in the first year.

None so far.

Fast, efficient, great power to speed ratio. Great, easy gears. Great brakes. No damage after 5 years use. Safe. responsive.

Worry about rust on front brake.

Light weight, very smooth ride. Upright riding position, Deore rear derailleur. Feels like a road bike.

Shifting on front chain ring is somewhat poor.

Just got a 2014 model on sale at lbs. This bike is definitely worth the price! The Isozone and carbon fork smooth out all the road vibration and I like the road bike gearing. The compact double still allows for me to climb some steep hills in the saddle. The Deore rear derailleur shifts very crisply every time. I like the black paint. The only complaint is the "clunky" shifting on the front chain ring. I had a 2010 7.3 FX that I rode on BRAN in 2011, after that bike was stolen I missed it for almost 4 years but no more, the 2014 7.5 FX is awesome! A road bike in disguise!

Similar Products Used:

2010 Trek 7.3 FX

Let me start by saying this is not a hybrid. Trek classifies this as a fitness bike. As an in town commuter, this is quite simply the best bike I've ever bought. It's fast,agile, and extremely reliable mechanically. Mine is the 2011 model with the hydraulic disc brakes. As for those that say the brakes are finicky, I can't say that I've seen that on mine, even with me putting over 3000 miles on mine in the first year. In fact,other than adjusting for cable stretch, I had absolutely no mechanical issues with mine. None. The only thing I changed on mine was the tires, I switched the factory tires for the 110 psi Racelites, which boosted the top end performance immensely.

The only problem I could point out is that it's not terribly good on loose surfaces. So I simply modified my routes to avoid areas that have loose gravel etc.

This was an outstanding bike for the money. It's a shame Trek dropped it in their 2013 line up. If you can get one used, I wouldn't hesitate to say grab it.

Light & Responsive. Carbon fork is easy on the elbows. I never had a problem with the seat once I started wearing cycling shorts. It is like a road bike for people who don't want a road bike. Well built.

Lever for front derailleur (left hand) is tough on the thumb as a lot of pressure is needed to change the gear. Not a problem with the rear (right hand).

I have a 2009, bought in September of 2008. Previously, I had had a GT hybrid for 13 years. This Trek was much lighter. I have never had a flat tire with this one! I bought the bike at Metro Bikes, NYC. I brought it in for yearly maintenance. It never needed anything else, except new brake pads. I did upgrade, after several years, to pedals that I could clip into . Eventually, in Sept. of 2012, I decided to up the ante and ride with a bike club. They all ride road bikes, so I am making the switch. Also, for me, I thought that the varied hand positions on a road bike would be better for the health of my upper extremeties as I begin to approach and will soon exceed 50 mile rides. But for 35 mile casual rides, this bike fits the bill!

Great bike for the price! Have had it 18 months now and put 3400 miles on it. Changed tires and went with Continental Gator Skins, just for a change and I'm well pleased with them after about 250 miles. Ride is smooth and changing gears a breeze. At 70 years old, both of these is a real plus. Had a vine catch my helmet last month and got a double flip off the back end of the bike with a lot of road rash to my knee, leg and arm. Bicycle took it hard laying down on the pavement. Twenty min. At the bike shop and she was looking just as good as before the accident.

None considering the price.

Bottom line, I'm More than satisfied. It answers my need for exercise and a daily hobby. In my area, seashore NC , we enjoy pretty good winters most years so I'm able to use the bike year round. Looking forward to many more thousands of miles, God willing. Two Wheeler Dealer in Wilmington, NC is where I purchased the bike and all my incidental equipment, clothing, etc. Can't say enough good things about them and their staff. Very professional and helpful in every way.

Have put 200 miles on my 2013 Carrera Blue 7.5 FX and I truly LOVE this bike. My previous ride was a 7.3FX and I'm very happy with the upgrades which include carbon front fork, monostay rear frame and 24 spoke rims. The carbon fork and monostay frame do seem to smooth out the ride. This the derailer is the same as what I had on the 7.3 but this thing shifts liek a dream, fast & sure. The brakes are outstanding. I ride paved roads, side walks and bike trails and this this performs like a dream. Added a node 2.1 computer, rack and new seat.

Seat was not comfortable, changed it before I brought the bike home

Putting lots of miles on this bike, riding it is a pure joy, very pleased with the purchase. When Trek added the monostay frame and offered the 7.5 in Carrera Blue, made the decision to buy immediately. Loved my 7.3 but everything about the 7.5 is more refined, more high performance. Getting used to 18 vs 24 speeds. I'd probably prefer 24 but the move to 18 is not that big a deal, use every gear and have had no issues. Was a little concerned about the 700x28 tires on sidewalks compared to 700x32 on the 7.3. No issues, they wear like iron and handle like a dream. The paint job and graphics on this bike are outstanding, I love just looking at the bike. Very happy with my Trek 7.5FX, intend to own this bike for a very long time and log thousands of miles. .

Good riding position for an old guy with an 'iffy' lower back. Did RAGBRAI with it this year and had zero problems w/ it. Our team propbably ranked in the top 25-30% of finishers each day so we were not dawdling out there. Shifters work well [now better than when new]. Chain ring shifts are slow and must be held when shifting into big ring for a moment to avoid chain issues. Not a deal-breaker but I did have to adjust to its character. Brakes are superb; I have the disc brake model and they're fade-free wet or dry. My Trek bike shop exemplifies 'customer service'. It's a very smooth roller and often I an outcoast the racing bikes costing several thou more.

Bottom bracket started making noises ~3 months old and a 'clicking' noise was there sometimes and then not - hard to diagnose. Finally, it was determined to be a bracket failure & Trek replaced in an expedited fashion. BB's have a 7K-10K? lifespan but I had less than 1K on it when it failed.

Good, solid machine for what it purports to be. It's rugged [I'm a 215 pounder & it's taking me on nicely]. It's too heavy to be a pure road machine but if you utilize 700x23's on it, it will keep up with most of the traffic on a typical ride. I may add a graphite-framed road machine to my stable for use with the longer rides or to add that extra 2 mph to keep up with the kids. I'm 69. :-)

Poorly made

Let me first say that I am 6'2 and i weigh 250 lbs. With that being said, this bike is simply not made for a large man or woman. I have to repair it after every ride.

Strong, stylish,light weight. Responsive gearing.

Poor pedal bearings, breaks need adjusting a bit too often.

A great all rounder, quick and responsive. I cycle 50 km daily and find the bike to be comfortable, easy handling and of reliable quality albeit the poor breaking and inferior pedal bearings. I have cycled 3000km since I purchased my Trek 7.5 and am at the end of the day not sorry.

Get the latest road bike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

Hot Deals See All Hot Deals >>

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

  • EDITORIAL REVIEWS
  • CLASSIFIEDS

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

  • TERMS OF USE
  • PRIVACY POLICY
  • ADVERTISING

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2024 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.

IMAGES

  1. 2020 Trek FX Sport 5

    trek fx 5 reviews

  2. Trek FX Sport 5 Carbon Mens 2019 Hybrid Performance Bike Black

    trek fx 5 reviews

  3. Trek FX Sport 5 2019: Bike review

    trek fx 5 reviews

  4. 2017 Trek FX 5 Sport

    trek fx 5 reviews

  5. Trek FX 5 Sport Disc 2021

    trek fx 5 reviews

  6. Trek FX Sport 5 (2021)

    trek fx 5 reviews

VIDEO

  1. Trek FX3 fitness bike a K2 Bike SHop-ban

  2. TREK 2023 FX Sport 6

  3. 2021 Trek FX Sport Carbon 4

  4. Uncovering the Surprising Features of the 2023 Trek Dual Sport Gen 5!

  5. Trek FX Sport 6

  6. Trek's Most Exciting NEW BIKE of 2023

COMMENTS

  1. 2023 Trek FX Sport 5 Review

    Cheers and thank you! The Trek FX Sport 5 has become one of the top hybrid bikes on the market this year due its wide range of features and benefits. In this review we will explore all aspects of this bike in detail - from its design to its performance - so you can better decide whether or not it's the right choice for your needs.

  2. Test Ride Review: Trek FX 5 Sport

    Published on : 11 Feb 2019, 12:56 am Last month we tested the Trek FX 5 Sport. It looks stunning, but does it meet the expectations of a speed junkie? Will it help you shed the pounds without busting your lungs? Does it have what it takes to be the best hybrid cycle out there? Let's find out. Trek FX 5 Sport weighs 10kg only

  3. The BRAND NEW 2022 Trek FX Sport 4 and 5!! (Review + Ride)

    (Review + Ride) - YouTube 0:00 / 13:29 Intro The BRAND NEW 2022 Trek FX Sport 4 and 5!! (Review + Ride) Talalipop MTB 29.8K subscribers Subscribe Subscribed 59K views 1 year ago FX...

  4. 2024 Trek FX Sport 5

    Specs, reviews & prices for the 2024 Trek FX Sport 5. Compare forks, shocks, wheels and other components on current and past bikes. View and share reviews, comments and questions on road bikes. Huge selection of road bikes from brands such as Trek, Specialized, Giant, Santa Cruz, Norco and more.

  5. 2021 Trek FX Sport 5

    relaxed aggressive FX Sport 5 Other Fitness bikes Gearing A bike with lower gearing will be easier to ride up steep hills, while a higher top end means it will pedal faster down hills. Lowest gear (climbing) FX Sport 5 Similar Bikes Highest gear (descending) Add custom gearing Spec Level

  6. TREK FX Sport 5 2021 Lightweight Road Bike: bike review

    4.4K views 3 years ago #TREK2021WoBc TREK FX Sport 5 2021 Lightweight Road Bike: bike review FX Sport 5 is a carbon fiber fitness bike for riders who want the speed of a lightweight road...

  7. 2022 Trek FX Sport 5

    Ride Feel Based on frame geometry and build specs. Rider Position relaxed aggressive FX Sport 5 Other Fitness bikes Gearing A bike with lower gearing will be easier to ride up steep hills, while a higher top end means it will pedal faster down hills. Lowest gear (climbing) 31 mph FX Sport 5 35 mph Similar Bikes Highest gear (descending)

  8. FX Sport 5

    49 Reviews / Write a Review $2,099.99 Model 5267823 Retailer prices may vary. FX Sport 5 is a carbon fiber fitness bike for riders who want the speed of a lightweight road bike with the comfort and control of a flat handlebar.

  9. FX Sport 5

    88 Reviews / Write a Review Model 587572 Retailer prices may vary. FX Sport 5 is a carbon fiber fitness bike for riders who want the speed of a lightweight road bike with the comfort and control of a flat handlebar.

  10. Trek FX 1 vs. 2 vs. 3 and FX Sport 4 vs. 5 vs. 6

    The best bike from the Trek FX Sport family is the mid-range FX Sport 5 Disc, as it uses a simple 1X drivetrain and is much lighter than the FX Sport 4. While the Trek FX Sport 6 is much lighter, mainly due to the carbon wheels, it is also much more expensive. Buy FX Sport 4 Disc. Buy FX Sport 5 Disc.

  11. Trek FX 5 Sport: Test Ride Review: Is it worth the money?

    Trek FX 5 Sport weighs 10kg only. At 10kg, the Trek FX 5 Sport weighs as much as your pet Beagle! Trek is known for its invisible welding technology on the 400 Series OCLV (Optimum Compaction Low Void) carbon frame. The technology attempts to strike the best balance between low weight, high strength and stiffness.

  12. Trek FX Sport 5 Review 2023

    The Trek FX Sport 5 comes with a price tag that places it squarely in the mid-range category, making it an attractive option for those seeking quality without breaking the bank. While prices may vary depending on location and additional accessories, you can generally expect to invest around $1,399 to $1,499 in this versatile bike. 2.

  13. Trek FX 4 vs FX 5 vs FX 6: Which One Is Best For You?

    Get out. Go further. Ride Rad. Equipped with Promax hydraulic disc brakes for confidence-inspiring stopping power and a reliable yet simple 1 x 10 drivetrain for effortless gear selection. The FX Sport 4 takes everything you love about the FX series but just makes it better! Trek FX Sport 4

  14. FX Sport 5

    2017 Trek FX S 5. Frame 400 Series OCLV Carbon, IsoSpeed, E2 tapered head tube, BB90, disc balanced post mount, Power Transfer Construction, 142x12 Closed Convert dropout, hidden fender mounts, 3S chain keeper, DuoTrap compatible

  15. Best Hybrid Bikes for 2023: These Flat Bar Road Bikes Are Fast

    $1,999 FX Sport 5 has a carbon-fiber frame and fork for riders who want the speed of a road bike with the comfort and control of standard flat handlebars.

  16. 2023 Trek FX Sport 5

    2023 Trek FX Sport 5. A 700c carbon frame fitness bike with upper mid-range components and hydraulic disc brakes. ... Trek FX 2 Disc Equipped review: Unspectacular but effective. Sep 2022 · Benjamin Page. The Trek FX 2 Disc is a versatile all-rounder with surprising levels of comfort and stability.

  17. Best fitness bikes: flat handlebar machines for your workout

    1 Giant FastRoad SL 1 View 2 Trek FX 3 Disc Check Price 3 Specialized Sirrus Check Price 4 Canyon Roadlite 6 View 5 Merida Speeder 900 View 6

  18. Is Trek FX Sport 5 A Good Hybrid Bike? [Trek FX Sport 5 Review]

    Rating: (4.6/5) Trek FX Sport 5 Click View The Latest Offers The latest addition to the Trek FX line, the Trek FX Sport 5 is a hybrid bike built specifically for fitness riders. High specs, light weight, and low maintenance allow riders ready for longer rides to go farther.

  19. FX Sport 5

    2018-2019 FX Sport 5 88 Reviews / Write a Review Model 549656 Retailer prices may vary. FX Sport 5 is a carbon fiber fitness bike for riders who want the speed of a lightweight road bike with the comfort and control of a flat handlebar.

  20. Trek 7.5 FX Hybrid Bike user reviews : 4.1 out of 5

    [May 26, 2021] daftdaft1996pondskater OVERALL RATING 5 ★★★★★ ★★★★★ Strength: As an in town commuter for Sacramento Fencing Pros , this is quite simply the best bike I've ever bought. It's fast,agile, and extremely reliable mechanically.